Political filing opens in county

Wednesday, March 20, 2002

Filing for political office in the May 21 Democratic and Republican party primary opened at noon Tuesday, March 19, and will close at noon Tuesday, April 2.

All candidates must file candidacy through the Clay County clerk's office. For more information about filing procedures, persons may call the county clerk's office in Piggott at 598-2813 or in Corning at 857-3480.

Democratic candidates for county, municipal, and township offices must file with Sue Smith, secretary of the Clay County Democratic Committee.

In addition, those running for the county committee and for delegate to the State Convention must also file at this time. Smith will be at the Piggott courthouse from 9 a.m. until noon Tuesday, April 2.

On other days during this two-week period she can be reached at her home at 1014 Country Club Road in Piggott. For further information, Democratic candidates may contact Smith at 598-3304 or suesmith@piggott.net.

For filing with the Republican party, candidates may contact Jason Sutfin.

As of 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, candidates filing at the Piggott courthouse were:

County judge -- Gary Howell.

County clerk -- Sharon K. Williams and Debbie Foster Corbin.

Treasurer -- Carolyn Morrisett.

Coroner -- David Lee Clayton.

Sheriff/collector -- Ronnie Cole.

Circuit clerk -- Janet Luff.

JP District 4 -- David Cagle.

JP District 5 -- Mac Manchester.

South Kilgore/Gleghorn constable -- Wayne Nickason.

Clark Township -- Charles Malding.

Bradshaw/Haywood -- Bob Swenson.

Cleveland/North Kilgore -- Marvin Bo Cobb.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: