Pollard holds annual picnic

Wednesday, July 15, 2009
Alexandria Gray George of Corning (center) was crowned Miss Pollard 2009 at their annual picnic Saturday, July 11. She's the daughter of David and Shannon George of Corning. First alternate was Jessie Scheffler of Piggott (left) the daughter of Bradley and Sandy Scheffler and second alternate was Kelsey Rhea Dow of Brookland (right) the daughter of Tim and LeAnn Dow. (Times photo/Tim Blair)

The 77th annual Pollard picnic, to benefit the upkeep of the New Hope Cemetery and the Pollard Picnic grounds, was held Saturday, July 11, in that community.

Despite the threat of showers, a good crowd was on hand for the event. Later that evening, following the Miss Pollard pageant and the cash drawings, a few thundershowers did move through the area, much to the delight of the region's farmers.

This year's Pollard picnic featured the usual offerings, including pageants and contests, live entertainment, games, rides and the well-known fried chicken and chicken and dumpling dinners in the kitchen.

Crowned as Baby Miss Pollard was Olivia Rebstock of Holcomb, Mo., daughter of Tiffany and Matt Rebstock. First alternate was Makenna Lane of Corning, daughter of Luke and Shaina Lane, and second alternate was Elizabeth Brooke Householder of Piggott, daughter of Jason and Brandi Householder.

Baby Mister Pollard was Levi Moore of Piggott, son of Josh and Heather Moore. The first alternate was Logan Andrew Bearden of Jacksonville, the son of Aaron and Kandace Bearden, and second alternate was Kamden Brown of Poplar Bluff, son of Justin and Brandy Brown.

Toddler Miss Pollard for 2009 is Carissa Hollowell of Corning, daughter of Holly and Carl Hollowell. The first alternate was Chloe McCurry of Piggott, daughter of Cody and Tiffany McCurry, and second alternate was MaKenna Shipman of Corning, daughter of Tim and Sharia Shipman.

Toddler Mister Pollard was Gunner Reeves of Piggott, son of Kevin and Samantha Reeves. First alternate was Max Johnson of Qulin, son of Holly and Josh Johnson, and second alternate was Braden Kimes of Alma, son of Callie and John Kimes.

Petite Miss Pollard for 2009 was Sierra Lyne Minton of Piggott, daughter of Mark and Amber Minton. First alternate was Morgan Rahn of Piggott, daughter of Joey and Jennifer Rahn, and second alternate was Emma Vancil of Qulin, daughter of Brandon and Corey Vancil.

Petite Mister Pollard was Bo Lilly of Dexter, son of Josh and Jodi Lilly. First alternate was Hunter Reeves of Piggott, son of Kevin and Samantha Reeves, while the second alternate was Mason Saffell of Van Buren, the son of Steven and Cara Saffell.

Micha Harrell of Piggott was crowned Little Miss Pollard for 2009.. She is the daughter of Michael and Amber Harrell. First alternate was Madison Elizabeth Rahn of Piggott, daughter of Joey and Jennifer Rahn, and second alternate was Madison Reeves of Piggott, daughter of Kevin and Samantha Reeves.

Junior Miss Pollard for this year is Madison VanderKooi of Piggott, daughter of Eric and Diana VanderKooi. First alternate was Sadie Sawyers of Piggott, daughter of Chuck and Rachel Sawyers, and second alternate was Taylor Davis of Piggott, daughter of Troy and Julie Banning.

In one of the highlights of the day was the crowning of Alexandria Gray George of Corning as Miss Pollard for 2009. She is the daughter of David and Shannon George. Her court included first alternate Jessie Scheffler of Piggott, daughter of Bradley and Sandy Scheffler, and second alternate Kelsey Rhea Dow of Brookland, the daughter of Tim and LeAnn Dow.

The winner of the annual bubble gum bubble blowing contest this year was Jillian Noles of Piggott. Second place went to Katie Baxter of Fagus. And the prize for traveling the farthest to attend this year's picnic went to Marty Jonas, who traveled over 4,300 miles from Alaska.

Following the Miss Pollard pageant, the quilt and cash drawings were held. Winner of the quilt donated by the Pollard-area quilters was Mary McLeskey. In the cash drawings, David Wagster was the winner of the $50 prize and Carl Toombs won the $100 drawing.

Picnic organizers offered their thanks to everyone who made the event possible and to those who attended.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: