Election Day fast approaching

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Early voting currently is underway at the Clay County clerk's offices in Piggott and Corning between the hours of 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday and 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday. Early voting will end at 5 p.m. Monday, Nov. 1.

Voter registration for the General Election ended Monday, Oct. 4. Registered voters who have recently moved to a different county must transfer their voter registration by Friday, Oct. 29.

Those who will be unavoidably absent from the polls on the Nov. 2 Election Day and requested an absentee ballot from the Clay County clerk must mail back their ballots by Nov. 2.

On Election Day, all polling sites will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. In Piggott, voters will cast their ballots at the community center. (Sample ballots may be viewed online at www.VoteNaturally.org).

Piggott voters will cast their ballots for mayor, choosing between incumbent mayor Gerald Morris and challenger Danny Brown.

Also, two Piggott City Council positions will be decided. Alderman Tommy Risinger is being challenged by Jamey Parks for the south ward, position two seat. Alderman Carl Birmingham is challenged by Mike Cook for the north ward, position two seat.

There were no contested races in any Clay County positions.

These races also will appear on the General Election ballot:

U.S. Senate -- Sen. Blanche Lincoln (D), Congressman John Boozman (R), John Gray (Green), Trevor Drown (Independent) and Stephan "Troublemaker" Hercher (write-in).

U.S. Congress (District 1) -- Chad Causey (D), Rick Crawford (R), Kenton Adler (Green), Richard Walden (Independent) and Mickey Higgins (Independent).

Governor -- Gov. Mike Beebe (D), Jim Keet (R), Frank Gilbert (Constitution), Jim Lendall (Green), David Dinwiddie (write-in), Elvis D. Presley (write-in) and Billy Roper (write-in).

Lieutenant Governor -- Shane Broadway (D) and Mark Darr (R).

Secretary of State -- Pat O'Brien (D) and State Rep. Mark Martin (R).

Land Commissioner -- L.J. Bryant (D) and John M. Thurston (R).

Attorney General -- Dustin McDaniel (D), Rebekah Kennedy (Green) and Marc Rosson (write-in).

State Treasurer -- Martha Shoffner (D) and Bobby Tullis (Green).

Supreme Court Position 6 -- (Non-Partisan) Tim Fox and Karen Baker.

Arkansans also will be asked to decide three ballot initiatives -- the Arkansas Hunting Rights Amendment (right to hunt, fish and trap wildlife), Interest Rate Limits (to establish criteria before authorizing the issuance of bonds) and Arkansas Standard for Super Project Bonds (to lower the threshold for issuing state bonds to attract major industry). These initiatives are explained in more detail in another article in this issue.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: