Rector campers learn the basics

Thursday, August 18, 2011
All 32 campers were applauded by coaches for their efforts, with each student receiving the Hustle Award

Several young players received instruction last week at the annual Rector School Individual Skills Basketball Camp. The event wrapped up Thursday with an awards ceremony at the Rector Gymnasium.

Family and friends gathered to see the occasion as many of the talented young players received recognition for their skills. A number of awards were given in several categories. Boys and girls were split into different groups based upon age. Boys: first through third grades; fourth and fifth grades and sixth grade. The lone girls division was comprised of players in the first through third grades.

Receiving the top awards as Outstanding Campers were Morgan Garner, first through third grade girls; Kameron Jones, first through third grade boys; Parker Bucy, fourth and fifth grade boys and Kirk Beshears, sixth grade boys.

Other award winners included:

First through third grade girls--Tenlee Dean, hot shot and Morgan Garner, free throw, one-on-one and layup.

First through third grade boys--Kameron Jones, hot shot, free throw and layup and Lane Casebier, one-on-one.

Fourth and fifth grade boys--Max Ford, obstacle course; Trey Rodden, free throw; Evan Dooley, hot shot and Parker Bucy, one-on-one.

Sixth grade boys--Kirk Beshears, hot shot and obstacle course; Brandon Shelton, free throw and Sam Simmons, one-on-one.

All 32 campers were presented with Hustle Awards.

"I thought this was our best camp, as far as the attitude of the kids--they were great all week--and work ethic," RHS boys coach Matt Mills said. "Everybody came out each day and worked hard. I was extremely impressed with this group."

"This was an energetic group," new Lady Cougars coach Matt Dean, one of the event's organizers, said. "They were a lot of fun to work with."

Each camper also received a camp t-shirt.

Participants in the camp were: Olivia Sutherland, Morgan Garner, Ellie Ford, Natalie Mills, Audrey Shimmings, Sophie Simmons, Tenlee Dean, Landon Haywood, Lane Casebier, Samual Shipley, Cooper Rabjohn, Zane Holloway, Jackson Hill, Brett Fair, Kameron Jones, Jerron Bucy, Evan Dooley, Colton Lindsey, Trey Rodden, Ty Jones, Dalton Brown, Zachary Gilbee, Max Ford, Adam Romine, Camden Mount, Parker Bucy, Hunter Wilburn, Conley Lockhart, Hunter McNeely, Kirk Beshears, Brandon Shelton and Sam Simmons.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: