Piggott seniors ready for next step

Friday, May 11, 2012
Logan Wilson

The Piggott High School Class of 2012 will take part in commencement exercises at 7 p.m. Friday, May 11, in the high school gymnasium.

This year's top honor students are Co-Valedictorians Logan Wilson and Breanna Wright. They are among 17 honor graduates to be recognized during the ceremony. School board president Hope Burns will award the diplomas. There also will be thousands of dollars in scholarships awarded to several graduates.

According to school officials, a total of 57 seniors will receive diplomas during the ceremony. The graduates will enter the gym to the familiar strains of Elgar's "Pomp and Circumstance," as performed by the PHS Band.

Breanna Wright

Scholarships and awards will be presented following speeches made by the Valedictorian and Salutatorian.

The presentation of diplomas will follow a performance of by the PHS Choir.

After receiving their diplomas, the Class of 2012 will be presented by interim superintendent Leean Mann. Class members and the band will then perform the PHS Alma Mater.

The band will once more play "Pomp and Circumstance" as the graduates exit the floor during the recessional.

Others graduating with honors include Anna Nettles, Kelli Wierzbicki, Paige Lockard, Allison Gurley, Alexandra Scheffler, Spencer Coomer, Chasidy Parrish, Kirstie Householder, Haley Foster, Shawna Malone, Brittany Johnson, Kailyn Conley, Emily Seal, Amber Moore and Hallie Vannada.

To be an honor graduate at PHS, a student must have a 3.0 grade point average and score at least a 19 on the English, math and reading sections of the ACT.

Also graduating will be: Dathan Ballard, Amber Beck, Eric Black, Austin Blankenship, Trevor Brown, Macy Buchanan, Matthew Burdin, Harley Clifford, Cameron Conley, Jann Corter, Taylor Covert, Kaela Cox, Paul Dalton, Kayla Depper, Ashley Franks, Emily Graddy, Kasey Grissom, Keifer Gunn, Derek Hall, Brad Harmon, Jordan Hebert, William Holifield, Gage Langley, Christina Laster, Travis Laughlin, Brandon Massey, Dillon McNew, Stephany Meadows, Audrey Nettles, Zach Redmon, Emily Seal, Collin Speer, Valerie Steimer, Alex Tebo, Kelsey Wagster, Owen Welty, Vanessa Westmoreland, J.T. Wilson and Cameron Wood.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: