2012 Piggott High School graduation successful

Thursday, May 24, 2012
PHS grad Spencer Coomer receives a hug from his mother, Karen. (Photo by Ryan Rogers)

Members of the Piggott High School Class of 2012 said goodbye to high school life in commencement exercises held at 7 p.m. Friday, May 11, at the PHS gymnasium.

Graduates entered to the strains of Elgar's "Pomp and Circumstance," performed by the PHS Band.

Speeches were made by Breanna Wright and Logan Wilson, co-valedictorians of the Class of 2012.

Others designated as honor graduates were Chasidy Parrish, Paige Lockard, Anna Nettles, Allison Gurley, Alex Scheffler, Kelli Wierzbicki, Spencer Coomer, Shawna Malone, Haley Foster, Brittany Johnson, Kailyn Conley, Emily Seal, Amber Moore, Hallie Vannada and Kirstie Householder. Each received special awards for that honor.

A highlight of the ceremony also was the presentation of several other awards and scholarships. Recipients were:

Breanna Wright -- $64,000 Academic Scholarship to Hendrix College; $16,000 Odyssey Distinction Award; $8,000 Presidential Scholarship to Hendrix College; $18,000 Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship, and English Award.

Logan Wilson -- $33,000 A-State Leadership Scholarship to ASU, English Award, and $18,000 Challenge Scholarship.

Spencer Coomer -- Shelter Insurance Scholarship; $1,000 Piggott State Bank Scholarship; $10,000 Commitment to Excellence Scholarship to University of the Ozarks; $8,500 Missouri Valley College Scholarship and $4,500 Arkansas Challenge Scholarship.

Chasidy Parrish -- $7,700 Incentive Scholarship to Twin Rivers Community College; $500 Lions Club Scholarship, Top 10 and Math Award.

Zach Redmon -- $250 Mohawk Booster Club Scholarship; $250 Kent Green Memorial Scholarship, and $500 Masonic Lodge Scholarship.

Paige Lockard -- Top 10, $400 Piggott Elementary Faculty Scholarship; $250 Mohawk Booster Club Scholarship; $29,000 Pride Scholarship to ASU, and $36,000 Academic Scholarship to Arkansas Tech University.

Anna Nettles -- Top 10, $400 Dr. B.B. Layl Memorial Scholarship; $100 Science Club Scholarship, and $200 Joann Barlow Memorial Scholarship.

Kailyn Conley -- $500 J.B. Swift Memorial Scholarship; $10,000 Arkansas Promise Scholarship to ASU; $18,000 Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship; ASU Theatre Scholarship, and $500 Clay County Arts Council Scholarship.

Shawna Malone -- $10,000 Arkansas Promise Scholarship to ASU, and $200 E.C. White Memorial Scholarship.

Allison Gurley -- $750 IAAO Chapter Scholarship; $18,000 Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship; $2,000 MFA Scholarship; $1,000 Ryan Pounds Memorial Scholarshp; Volleyball Scholarship to Crowley's Ridge College; Top 10; Clay County Conservation District Scholarship, and $250 Beta Scholarship.

Alex Scheffler -- $18,000 Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship; $10,000 Promise Scholarship to ASU, and $1,000 Piggott State Bank Scholarship.

Haley Foster -- $400 Piggott Elementary Faculty Scholarship, and Business Department Award.

Kirstie Householder -- $400 Piggott Elementary Faculty Scholarship.

Amber Beck -- $100 Art Club Scholarship, and Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship.

Ashley Franks -- $100 Art Club Scholarshp.

Keifer Gunn -- Dean's Scholarship to Williams Baptist College.

Amber Moore -- Dean's Scholarship to Williams Baptist College.

Kelli Wierzbicki -- Top 10; Academic Scholarship to the University of Central Arkansas; $250 Beta Scholarship, and English Award.

Vanessa Westmoreland -- $100 Art Club Scholarship.

Emily Graddy -- $50 Art Club Scholarship.

Emily Seal -- $50 Art Club Scholarship.

Christina Laster -- FCCLA Award.

Derek Hall -- $2,000 Nashville Auto Diesel College Scholarship.

Travis Laughlin -- $500 Clay County Arts Council Scholarship.

Hallie Vannada -- $4,500 Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship.

Following a performance by the PHS Choir, diplomas were presented by School Board president Hope Burns. The Class of 2012 then was presented by interim superintendent Leean Mann. Class members and the band performed the PHS Alma Mater.

The happy graduates then excited to "Pomp and Circumstance."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: