Record Year for PHS FBLA

Thursday, February 7, 2013
Piggott High School FBLA members going to state include, from left: Front--Connor Boyster, Peyton Haley, Arliss Mauldin, Nathan Blakely, Bryan Tate, Zack Vanderkooi and Logan Massey. Center--Tyler Peters, Lakyn Fry, Joelle Gordon, Michelle Haley, Emily Midkiff, Madison Crittenden, Anna McMillon and Megan Blue. Back--Josh Stone, Dylan Howell, Aaron Meadows, McKain Holman, Jim Copelin, Jordan Stallings, Quinton Mauldin, Seth Lacey and Caleb Wellborn.

This was a landmark year for Piggott High School FBLA as 18 students will be competing at this year's FBLA State Leadership Conference in Little Rock on April 8 to 9. With this year's numbers, PHS FBLA will have sent over 100 students to compete at the state level since 2004.

State qualifications began with the District II Spring Leadership Conference held at Nettleton High School in Jonesboro on Jan. 24. A total of 25 PHS students in grades 9 through 12 attended this year's conference and participated in competitive events, attended a general session, talent show and the awards ceremony.

In addition to placing in several competitive events, PHS's FBLA was also recognized for having an outgoing district officer, Lakyn Fry, who served as Reporter for District II. During the officer installation ceremony, Tyler Peters also received a medal for being elected as the 2013-2014 District II Secretary.

Those taking part for PHS included: James Maynard for Business Calculations; Nathan Blakely and Zack Vanderkooi for Business Plan; McKain Holman, Lakyn Fry and Tyler Peters for Business Presentation; Logan Massey for Computer Applications; Dylan Howell, Jim Copelin and Jordan Stallings for Computer Game and Simulation Programming; Katie Foster and Jerica Tate for Digital Design and Promotion; Connor Boyster for Help Desk; Josh Stone for Impromptu Speaking; Quinton Mauldin for Introduction to Business Communication; Aaron Meadows for Technology Concepts; Megan Blue for Word Procession I; Angelia Haines for Word Processing II and McKain Holman for Highest Honors for Who's Who in FBLA.

The Piggott chapter also took fifth place in local chapter membership and in local chapter membership and marketshare.

"I have a great group of intelligent, dedicated, and talented individuals competing at State this year and am expecting an outstanding performance from PHS FBLA in April," sponsor Stacy Peters noted.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: