PHS Sports Awards Assembly Held

Friday, May 31, 2013
It was a great year for Mohawk sports teams, but no one had a better campaign that the boy's tennis squad and their state 3A title. Members recognized included, from left: Trevor Grubb, Teddy Arriola, Drew Adams, Beau Wicker, Will Jett and Quinton Mauldin. (photo courtesy Frank Staples Photography)

Piggott High School recognized student athletes at the annual all sports awards assembly Tuesday, May 21 as Mohawks were honored for their performances in the just completed school year. For PHS, the 2012-13 campaign will go down in school history as one of the most successful, with one state championship and a variety of post-season appearances by Mohawk sports teams.


Members of the Mohawk boy's tennis team were recognized for their 3A state title, along with state and district singles champion Beau Wicker. He was honored for his titles, and for being named All-District and All-State. Meanwhile, the doubles team of Trevor Grubb and Will Jett were recognized for their state and district runner-up finishes, and as All-District and All-State performers. Meanwhile, Quinton Mauldin was All-District, and district singles runner-up; Drew Adams was an All-District honorable mention and Teddy Arriola was Most Improved.

For the girls team Haley French was recognized as district singles champion, and third in the state. She was also an All-State performer, her fourth such honor. Meanwhile, Katelynn Woodard was district runner-up and named All-District, while Sadie Sawyers was Most Improved.


The Junior Lady Mohawk volleyball team set a goal, and went out and won their conference this year, and Devyn Staples, MaKalia Beck, Megan Johnson and Madison Chandler were chosen All-Conference. Meanwhile, Holly Boyd took home the teammate award and Meghan Woodard was Most Improved.

The senior Lady Mohawk volleyball team made it to the second round of the state tournament at Searcy, as they completed another successful season. Erica Cluck, Taylor Davis, Kacey Crossfield and Mallory Wright were named All-Conference, while Davis, Crossfield and Wright were All-State selections and Crossfield was named to the All-State Tournament Team. Wright also garnered the coveted teammate award, while the Most Improved honors went to Bailey Pollard.


The junior Mohawk football team had another good campaign in the always-tough 3A-3. Tuesday this year's Mr. Mohawk award went to Landon Williams. Meanwhile, teammate awards were given to Nick Harris, Braden Brewer and Logan Dixon.

The Mohawk football squad won an exciting elimination game at Corning, and qualified for the state playoffs last fall. All Conference honors were awarded to Logan Murray, Lucas Brewer, Nick Haywood, Austin Murray, Richard Shaw, Collin Benbrook and Josh Welborn. Meanwhile, second team honors were afforded to Brody Williams, Cody Mantz and Dylan Howell. Logan Murray also took home the coveted Mr. Mohawk award.


Members of the PHS cheerleading squad recognized with post-season honors during the annual assembly were Bailey Regan and Hunter French.


The junior girls had a good campaign, and continued to improve each week. Junior girls basketball players honored included Devyn Staples with the defense award, and Lady Mohawk award, while MaKalia Beck earned the Hustle Award and Ambrea Massey was Most Improved.

The senior Lady Mohawks had an up and down season, but finished strong. Senior girls basketball awards went to Mallory Wright for All-Conference and for defense; while Alexa DeHart was Most Improved, Shelby Chavez earned the Hustle Award and the Lady Mohawk Award went to Kayla Morgan.

The junior boys had a successful campaign on the hardwood, and were entertaining to watch. Members of the junior boy's basketball team recognized included Alex Baber for Most Improved, Brett Fuller for the Hustle Award, Nick Harris for the Defense Award and Brayden Brewer took home the Mr. Mohawk award.

The senior Mohawks also made a good showing under a new coach, winning several tournament games and posting a strong conference presence. Senior boy's basketball players recognized included Trevor Grubb for Most Improved, Cody Mantz with the Hustle Award, meanwhile Austin Murray and Bradley Stephens shared the Defense Award and Lucas Brewer and Logan Murray shared the Mr. Mohawk award. Austin Murray and Lucas Brewer were also chosen to the All-Conference team.


The Lady Mohawk softball team was a young squad, but made an impact this past season--earning a regional berth. Last Tuesday the team honored Mallory Wright with the Miss Mohawk award. She was also chosen All-Conference along with Devyn Staples. Meanwhile, the teammate award went to Taylor Davis.

The Mohawk baseball team made yet another run into the state tournament this spring, the third trip for this year's senior class in four tries. Players recognized with post season honors included Enoch Richardson with the teammate award, Brody Williams for All-Conference and the team Hustle Award, while Logan Murray was named All-Conference and garnered the Mr. Mohawk award.


Also recognized at the assembly were members of the Mohawk track teams, including Colton Hardin, Caleb Welborn, Seth Lacey and Logan Dixon. Meanwhile, the girls team recognized Abby Welborn for her performance in the pole vault and Lexi Herren in the one mile run.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: