Morris Elected to Statewide Office

Wednesday, July 3, 2013
Piggott Mayor Gerald Morris

The Arkansas Municipal League held its 79th annual convention recently and elected new officers for the 2013-14 year. Among those elected to statewide office was Piggott Mayor Gerald Morris, who was chosen as District One Vice President. Morris has served on both the Executive Committee and the First Class Cities Advisory Council for a combined seven years as a member of the league.

More than 1,500 city and town officials from across Arkansas attended the 79th convention, where they discussed the leagues agenda for the upcoming year. The convention also offered two sessions of the league's voluntary certified continuing education program for municipal officials, and a variety of workshops covering topics of municipal interest such as land use issues, emergency preparedness, avoiding lawsuits and more.

Other officers elected for the 2013-14 year included--Pea Ridge Mayor Jackie Crabtree as president; Little Rock Mayor Mark Stodola as first vice president; Jacksonville Mayor Gary Fletcher as district two vice president; Bentonville Mayor Bob McCaslin as district three vice president and Hope City Manager Catherine Cook as the district four vice president.

The Arkansas Municipal League is a service and advocacy organization for the municipalities of Arkansas. The League has a voluntary membership comprised of all 500 cities and towns in the state and was created to assist cities with information and representation in the public affairs of our state and nation. Those wanting to find out more about the organization may visit them online at

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: