Mohawk Track Teams Set for Season

Thursday, March 13, 2014
The PHS Mohawk senior boy's track team this year includes, from left: Front-Lee Austin, Trace Stallings, Landon Williams, Bryan Samples, Logan Dixon, Bradley Stephens and Brady McPherson. Back-Nick McKinnie, Ben Jones, Justin Clifford, Hunter Neeley, Seth Lacey, Nathan Gookin, Caleb Welborn, John Daniel Beck and Nick Haywood.(courtesy photo)

The Piggott High School Mohawk track and field teams have a full slate of meets scheduled for the spring, with the majority of the events held at Pocahontas. The girls and boys teams will also take part in the Arnold Relays at Paragould and the district meet at Earle.

The first meet will be for junior boys and girls, and will be held Tuesday, March 18 at Pocahontas High School. Then, on Thursday, March 20 the senior girls and boys will be competing at the same location. The junior teams will return to Pocahontas on April 1 and April 8, with the senior teams visiting Randolph County for meets on April 3 and April 10.

The Paragould Arnold Relays for seventh grade boys and girls will be held on Monday, April 14 at Paragould High School.

Molly Daffron (left) and Natalia Alvarado are the members of this year's senior Lady Mohawk track team. (courtesy photo)

The junior teams will then travel back to Pocahontas on Tuesday, April 15 for a meet with the senior teams making the trip on Thursday, April 17 for their competition.

On Monday, April 21 the Paragould Junior Arnold Relays will be held for junior girls and boys competitors. The next day, Tuesday, April 22, the Pocahontas Junior Redskins Relays will be held.

Meanwhile, the Pocahontas Senior Redskins Relays are slated for Thursday, April 24.

The final regular season meet for the senior teams will be held Monday, April 28 at Paragould High School as the Paragould Senior Arnold Relays are held for this year.

The 3A-3 junior district track meet will be held at Earle High School on Tuesday, April 29. And, the senior district will be held Thursday, May 1 at the same location. This will mark the final year of Earle hosting the district, at least for the time being, as the Bulldogs will drop down to 2A for the next two year cycle.

Mohawk athletes who qualify for the 3A state track meet will take part in that event May 5 to 9 at Morrilton.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: