Piggott Community Hospital Receives Quality Award

Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Accepting the award for PCH at the Little Rock event were, from left Judy Nettles and Elaine Nixon

Piggott Community Hospital was one of only three hospitals in the state to earn a Gold Hospital Quality Excellence Award in the Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care's annual Quality Awards program.

The Quality Awards are designed to recognize improvement in individual health care organizations' performance in AFMC's quality improvement projects. The Gold Hospital Quality Excellence Award recognizes exceptional organizations whose comprehensive quality program demonstrates an overall commitment to excellent patient care and is the highest designation in the category.

"This actually comes as no surprise," said James Magee, executive director at PCH. "We have maintained our status as one of the top of the awards for the past several years. When you think of the number of hospitals across Arkansas competing, it can seem overwhelming."

But, the local administrator was also quick to point to the reason for the accolades. "This award is directly attributed to the quality of our physicians, clinicians and staff. It is a great honor to them, and it should be a greater comfort to all to know that Piggott has one of the highest ranked hospitals in the state for quality care," he surmised.

AFMC presented the award at a luncheon held April 4 as part of its annual Quality Conference in Little Rock.

AFMC officials offered their congratulations to PCH on its commitment to high-quality health care for the citizens of Arkansas.

For over 40 years, through utilization review, quality improvement projects and public education, the Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care has worked to improve the health of Arkansans.

The foundation's mission statement is--to promote excellence in health and health care through evaluation and education.

Those wanting more information may visit them online at www.afmc.org

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: