Greenway Fire Department Gets Grant Money

Thursday, May 15, 2014
On hand for the grant check presentation to the Greenway Fire Department were, from left: State Rep. Joe Jett, Jeff Wolfenbarger, ARDC Chair Lynn Hawkins, Fire Chief Ronny A. Dixon, Gov. Mike Beebe, State Sen. Robert Thompson and DRS Director John Andrews.

The Greenway Fire Department has benefited from an Arkansas Rural Fire Protection Grant, and plans to use the $15,000 to purchase a commercial pumper truck.

The award to the Greenway department was one of 15 grants, which amounted to some $168,000, authorized through the Fiscal Year 2014, Cycle 3 funding of the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program.

A special awards ceremony was held May 8, in the Governor's conference room of the State Capitol in Little Rock. During the ceremony Gov. Mike Beebe, and Department of Rural Services Director John Andrews, handed out the grant checks.

On hand representing the Greenway Fire Department were Chief Ronny A. Dixon and Jeff Wolfenbarger. The firemen were joined by local lawmakers, State Senator Robert Thompson and Paragould and State Representative Joe Jett of Success, along with Beebe and the other state officials.

Dixon indicated the department would begin the process of finding a truck immediately.

The Department of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs in three cycles each year. Incorporated cities and towns and un-incorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge's office.

Those wanting more information about the Department of Rural Services and their grant programs may call 1-888-RURAL-AR.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: