Mohawk Basketball Camp Draws Talented Group

Thursday, June 12, 2014
At the conclusion of the basketball camp at PHS the campers and volunteers gathered for this group photo.

Over 40 participants took part in a two-day Mohawk basketball camp Monday and Tuesday, June 9 and 10, in the PHS gym. The elementary camp was planned and staged by Mohawk basketball coaches David Reynolds and Alan Rabjohn, with assistance from players with both the girls and boys programs.

Tuesday a large crowd of parents and other family members gathered in the gym for the awards ceremony, as individual honors were handed out to the participants.

The camp was open to both boys and girls, with a lower and upper age division for each. Following the camp Reynolds handed out certificates for the top competitors in several events, and to the top overall boy and girl campers.

The top campers of the week at the Piggott Mohawk basketball camp were Taylor Seal (left) for the girls and Riley Henfling for the boys.

Lower Division

In the girls lower age division the three-on-three championship went to the team of Alyssa Manor, Zoie Reynolds and Morgan Rahn. Manor also won the defensive award, while Reynolds and Rahn tied in the free-throw shooting contest. Winner of the obstacle course was Kiley Williams and Weslyn Burside won the hot shot contest.

The three-on-three champs for the boys lower age division was the team of Aaron Mauldin, Cooper Rabjohn and Cameron Chronister. The top defensive award went to Keegan Scudder, while Cooper Rabjohn swept the remainder taking the free throw, obstacle course and hot shot honors.

Upper Division

Talented young Taylor Seal dominated the girls' upper age division, sweeping the individual honors and as a part of the three-on-three champs with Haley Seal and Summer Pollard. Taylor was also recognized as winner of the obstacle course, defensive award and the hot shot contest as well.

For the boy's upper division the three-on-three contest went to the team of Ben Holcomb, Shawn-Hudson Seegraves and Hunter Smith. Holden Tarno won the obstacle course competition, and Cooper Harris and Shawn-Hudson Seegraves tied in the free-throw shooting contest. Cooper Harris also earned the defensive award and took the hot shot contest as well.

Following the announcement of the winners of the individual awards, Reynolds handed out the honors for the top boy and girl camper this year. Taking the top spot for the girls was Taylor Seal, while Riley Henfling earned the distinction for the boys.

Afterward Reynolds offered his thanks to the participants, the volunteers and parents for making the camp possible. He added the money raised from the camp will be used for a similar purpose, as some of the funds will allow Mohawk players to attend camps of their own.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: