Meeting Set to Focus On Downtown Rector

Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Downtown Rector will be topic of discussion during Thursday's visit by Main Street Arkansas

A special training seminar will be offered Thursday in Rector, with the goal of identifying factors which may be used to highlight and improve the city's downtown area.

Main Street Arkansas will provide training on the organization's four-point approach to downtown revitalization in Rector on Thursday, July 17. The training session will held from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Home Town Diner at 115 West 9th Street in Rector. Main Street Arkansas staff members will discuss organization, promotion, economic restructuring and design issues, and how each relates to Rector.

"We're looking forward to having the people from Main Street Arkansas here in Rector," Johnny Williams, president of Rector Downtown Central, the community's Main Street Arkansas affiliate, said. "It's a good opportunity for us to learn more and use that knowledge to help downtown Rector and, really, the whole community."

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state's downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Through previous involvement with the program, Rector has been able to have its downtown commercial district and Rector Waterworks building, also the site of the old city jail, included on the National Register of Historic places, in addition to receiving a $39,000 grant in 2009 to renovate the historic jail/water office.

"Any sort of help we can receive will be greatly appreciated," Williams said.

Those wanting more information may contact Samantha Evans with Main Street Arkansas at (501) 324-9356 or or Williams at (870) 595-4033 or

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Hardy, Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock's South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street's Arkansas Downtown Network are Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, DeWitt, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Fayetteville, Forrest City, Malvern and Pocahontas. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: