Municipal Filing Deadline Passes

Thursday, August 14, 2014

The filing period for the upcoming municipal election ended at noon on Friday, Aug. 15, and a number of contested races have developed. According to Clay County Clerk Pat Poole, there is a four-man race for mayor of Corning and one of the alderman races is contested in that city, meanwhile Rector voters have two alderman races to decide and the St. Francis mayoral race has drawn two candidates.

Otherwise, the remaining office holders, or candidates, will be unopposed when voters go to the polls in November.

None of the four candidates for positions with the City of Piggott drew opposition, including long time Alderman Jim Poole in his bid for mayor. Meanwhile, incumbent City Clerk Ramona Magee and Aldermen Mike Cook and Jamey Parks also will not face opposition as they seek another term.

In Rector, long time city council member Teresa L. Roofe is unopposed for mayor, and also running without opposition are the incumbent Alderman from East Ward, Position Two, David Romine, along with Lark Sigsby, candidate for Alderman from East Ward, Position One.

But, the two remaining races for Alderman in Rector are contested, with Ryan A. Lawrence and Mike A. Scott seeking the seat from West Ward, Position One, and Iva Fahr and Marvin Gatewood filing for Alderman from West Ward, Position Two.

The job of Mayor of St. Francis is also being contested, with both Keith Dalton and Teressa D. Johnson filing as candidates. Meanwhile, W.F. "Bill" McHaffey is unopposed for Mayor of Greenway, as are Cindy (Finley) Roberts for Mayor of McDougal, Dianne Neill for Mayor of Peach Orchard and Jeremy Edington for Mayor of Datto.

The other mayoral race in the county is a four-man contest at Corning, with the candidates filing including the incumbent, Mayor Dewayne Phelan, along with J.H. Ermert, Rob Young and Raymond Pettus, II.

One of the Alderman races in Corning is also contested, with Ray Vannoy and Brent Carter competing for North Ward, Position Two.

The only other contested race, countywide, is for Datto Alderman, Position Four, between Jennie Moore and Donald L. Borsch.

The complete review of all the municipal filings may be found in the Aug. 20, print and online editions of the CCTD.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: