Municipal Filing Complete for 2014

Thursday, August 21, 2014

The filing period for the upcoming municipal election ended at noon on Friday, Aug. 15, and a number of contested races have developed. According to Clay County Clerk Pat Poole, there is a four-man race for mayor of Corning and one of the alderman races is contested in that city, meanwhile Rector voters have two alderman races to decide and the St. Francis mayoral race has drawn two candidates.

The following is a complete review of filings from all municipal races in Clay County.

None of the four candidates for positions with the City of Piggott drew opposition in the municipal election, including long time Alderman Jim Poole in his bid for mayor. Meanwhile, incumbent City Clerk Ramona Magee and Aldermen Mike Cook and Jamey Parks also will not face opposition as they are insured another term.

In Rector, long time city council member Teresa L. Roofe is unopposed for mayor, and also running without opposition are the incumbent Alderman from East Ward, Position Two, David Romine, along with Lark Sigsby, candidate for Alderman from East Ward, Position One.

But, the two remaining races for Alderman in Rector are contested, with Ryan A. Lawrence and Mike A. Scott seeking the seat from West Ward, Position One, and Iva Fahr and Marvin Gatewood filing for Alderman from West Ward, Position Two.

The job of Mayor of St. Francis is also being contested, with both Keith Dalton and Teressa D. Johnson filing as candidates.

The other contested mayoral race in the county is a four-man affair at Corning, with the candidates filing including the incumbent, Mayor Dewayne Phelan, along with J.H. Ermert, Rob Young and Raymond Pettus, II.

One of the Alderman races in Corning is also contested, with Ray Vannoy and Brent Carter competing for North Ward, Position Two.

The only other contested race, countywide, is for Datto Alderman, Position Four, between Jennie Moore and Donald L. Borsch.

The remainder of candidates are running without opposition in November.

In Corning City Clerk Fran Edwards and aldermen candidates F.B Manatt, Randall L. Godwin and Danny Moore face no opposition. And, in Greenway, W. F. "Bill" McHaffey is running for mayor without opposition.

The same applies in McDougal, as Cindy (Finley) Roberts is running unopposed for mayor, while the candidates for aldermen, Marvin Kilbreath, Carroll Shipman, Jerry W. Hendley and Leslie W. Parrish have drawn no opponent.

Along with the one contested alderman race, the remainder of the candidates in Datto are not facing opposition, including Jeremy Eddington for mayor, Billie McCann for recorder/treasurer and alderman candidates Bert Swan, Robert Dollins, Jenny Dollins and Brenda Eddington.

And, there are no contested races in Peach Orchard, either, as Dianne Neill us unopposed for mayor and Dana R. Martin, Bobbie Kunold, Billie Jean Rainwater and Sherry Rainwater are unopposed for aldermen positions.

The municipal election will be held as part of this year's General Election, with the polls open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 4.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: