School Board Candidates Set

Thursday, July 9, 2015

The filing period for candidates for the upcoming annual school board election ended at noon on Tuesday, July 7, and there will be a contested race in Piggott.

According to Clay County Clerk Pat Poole's office, Katie Lipsey and Jennifer Rahn filed for the seat on the Piggott board; meanwhile, incumbent Kirk Ford filed for re-election to the Rector School Board, and is unopposed.

Rahn and Lipsey are both seeking the seat on the Piggott School Board currently held by Neil Morgan, who chose not to run for re-election. Rahn was also a candidate last year, but was edged by Chris Roberts in a runoff.

The drawing for ballot positions for the two Piggott candidates will be held at 10 a.m. on Thursday, July 9, at the Clay County Clerk's office in the Piggott courthouse. The candidates, or their representatives, are encouraged to attend.

The annual school board election will be held Tuesday, Sept. 15.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: