Piggott Girls Summer Tennis League Wraps-Up

Thursday, July 23, 2015
Pictured are some of the winners from the recent junior tennis tournament, held at the municipal courts in Piggott. The group includes, from left: first place finisher Destini Chase, Brooke Roberts, Macey Williams, Callie Henson, Shi Higdon and one of the division winners, Autumn Covert.(courtesy photo)

A total of 14 girls participated in the junior girls division summer tennis league this year at the Piggott municipal courts, and play wrapped-up Thursday, July 16, with the annual tournament. The league and tournament is conducted each summer by Piggott Mohawk Tennis Coach Paul Seegraves, as yet another group of young prospects showcased their talents.

For the tournament the group was divided into three divisions, and played a round-robin format with the chance of winning a medal. The players were then seeded to play in the championship/consolation tourney.

In the championship tournament, in first round play Katelyn Robertson advanced over white division winner Autumn Covert 4-1. Shi Higdon defeated Mikaylah Putt 4-0, black division winner Callie Henson beat Emma Riddle 4-1, Chloe Matthews downed Emily Conley 5-4(8-6), Macey Williams defeated Libby in a forfeit and Alyssa Blair beat Ava Baggett 4-0.

In the second round of play it was red division winner Destini Chase over Robertson 5-3, while Henson defeated Higdon 4-2, Brooke Roberts beat Matthews 4-0 and Williams downed Blair 4-1.

In semi-final action it was Chase over Henson 5-3, while Roberts defeated Williams 5-4(7-4).

This set up the third place match, with Williams beating Henson 4-0. And, in the championship match Chase defeated Roberts 4-0 to win and defend her title from last year.

Consolation Tourney

In the consolation bracket first round it was Mikaylah Putt over Emma Riddle 4-0, while Ava Baggett downed Libby Brantley in a forfeit. In the second round it was Blair over Covert 5-4(7-5), while Matthews downed Putt 4-0, Higdon beat Conley 4-0 and Baggett got by Robertson 5-3.

In the consolation semi-finals Matthews eliminated Blair 4-0 while Higdon defeated Baggett 4-0 to set up the final. And, in the championship match it was Higdon over Matthews 4-1 for the consolation title.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: