Little League State Tourney Held at Piggott

Thursday, July 30, 2015
The Pine Bluff Western All-Stars won the Arkansas State Little League 11 and 12 championship on Wednesday, July 22, at Independence Park in Piggott. The squad now advances to the national regional at Waco, Tex.(TD photo/Tim Blair)

Marking its 25th year in existence, Independence Park in Piggott celebrated in style last week and served as the site for this year's Arkansas Little League 11 and 12 State Tournament. And, although the host Piggott All-Stars were eliminated in their second round game, local baseball fans had the chance to see some of the top young talent in Arkansas.

The double-elimination bracket, which include Piggott, Corning, Malvern, South Arkansas-Union County, Bryant and Pine Bluff Western included a dozen games over the course of six days, and wrapped up last Wednesday, July 22, with an exciting championship double-header.

On Tuesday evening Bryant edged Union County in the elimination bracket, setting up a showdown with unbeaten Pine Bluff Western. The squad from Pine Bluff had advanced through the championship bracket with wins over Union County, Piggott and Bryant and stood as the only team without a loss.

Bryant had reached the finals with a first round bye, then a win over Malvern before losing to Pine Bluff Western and moving into the elimination bracket for Tuesday night's game.

Facing elimination Wednesday evening, the Bryant squad rose to the occasion and took the first game by a final of 3-1. But, Pine Bluff Western flexed their offensive muscle in the nightcap, jumping out to the early lead and cruising to a 9-0 win.

With the victory the Pine Bluff team advances to the upcoming national regional, being played in Waco, Tex.

The visitors to Piggott were also very complimentary of the local facilities and organizers, noting the field at Independence Park is actually nicer than the field at Waco being used for the national regional to the Little League World Series.

The tournament was hosted by Piggott Little League and Arkansas Little League District Four.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: