Clay County Farm Bureau Meeting Held

Thursday, September 3, 2015
State Senator Blake Johnson (far left) and State Rep. Joe Jett (far right) as they recognized the Potts/Hemann family as the Clay County Farm Family of the Year at last week's Farm Bureau meeting.(courtesy photo)

Clay County Farm Bureau's annual meeting was held at the Piggott Community Center on Thursday Aug. 20, with around 100 members and guests in attendance.

To begin the meeting, President Randal Coleman called the gathering to order and introduced Piggott Mayor Jim Poole, who welcomed the group to the city. President Coleman then led the Pledge of Allegiance and Randy Veach, President of Arkansas Farm Bureau, offered the invocation.

Those in attendance were then treated to a delicious meal prepared by Hog Wild BBQ of Piggott. The Piggott High School cheerleaders, along with their sponsor, assisted with seating and serving the meal.

Four students who attended the M*A*S*H program camps during the summer were recognized and addressed the meeting. Their spokesperson, Madison White of Corning, thanked Farm Bureau for their sponsorship and noted the week was very educational and enlightening. Others who took part who were in attendance were, Matison Dean and Jamie Hatfield of Rector and Dalton Price, Emily Draper and Chad Johnson, all of Corning.

Emily Layton, of Rector, was recognized as the 2015 recipient of the Clay County Farm Bureau Scholarship. She is attending Arkansas State University in Jonesboro. Allison Gurley, of Piggott, was also recognized as the winner of a Farm Bureau Scholarship.

Another tradition continued, as the Sonny Potts/Jim Hemann families were recognized as the 2015 Clay County Farm Family of the year. They were presented a plaque by county extension staff chairman Andy Vangilder in recognition of being chosen for the honor. State Senator Blake Johnson, of Corning, also presented the Potts/Hemann family with a proclamation from the Arkansas legislature for being chosen as the farm family of the year from Clay County.

State Representative Joe Jett, of Success, then gave a short legislative report and praised the work Farm Bureau does in Little Rock in support of Arkansas agriculture.

During the gathering a new slate of board members was elected. Those serving a one-year term include-Joe Burns, Keith Woolverton, Jeremy Wiedeman, Jim Hemann and Kris Pollard. Those elected for two-year terms were-Randal Coleman, Terry Pollard, Louis Ahrent, David Hatcher and Don McNeely. Those elected to a three-year term were-Harold Hancock, Kenny Francis, Blake Taylor and Mark Coleman. Going forward, all new board members will be elected to three year terms.

Seven new resolutions were presented, and adopted by a unanimous voice vote. These will now be forwarded to the state office for further discussion and possible inclusion in state policy.

This year's guest speaker was Dr. Timothy N Burcham, P.E., PhD, Dean of the College of Agriculture and Technology at Arkansas State University. His presentation was entitled, "Arkansas Agriculture Then and Now" and included a PowerPoint presentation which was found to be very interesting-and brought back a lot of memories. It served as the highlight of the evening.

Agency manager Cliff Gifford then gave the financial report, and introduced the insurance agents and the staff from each office.

Women's Committee Chairperson Sabrina Woolverton, along with member Debbie Pollard, was in charge of decorating for the function as well as obtaining door prizes. Those were handed-out as the meeting adjourned at 8 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: