Mohawk Football Team of Fall of '65 to be Honored

Thursday, October 1, 2015
Members of the Piggott Mohawk football team of the fall of 1965 included, from left: Front- Joe Johnson, David Coil, David Winberry, Greg Walker, Kerry Winberry, Clay Hamon, Danny Rogers, Phillip Toombs, Gary Bradford, David Polsgrove, Ricky Pounds and Mike Mann. Middle- Coach Ron Brawner, Ricky Batey, Mickey Graddy, Larry Martin, Melvin Bradford, Michael Bare, Gary Gidcomb, Frank Staples, Sammy Jewell, Junior Webster, Jerry Sample and Head Coach Carl Williams. Back- Don Tate, Roger Haywood, Dan Newton, Edwin Brawner, Ken Roden, J. Pritchett, Jim Seal, Sam Williams, Frank Davis, Sam Portifield, Pat McCarron, Jerry Moore, Floyd Landrum and Eugene Roberts.(file photo)

Prior to Friday night's home contest with the Rivercrest Colts the Mohawk football team of the fall of 1965 will be remembered, and surviving members recognized. This marks the 50th anniversary of the end of the Mohawk 25 game winning streak, which first started at the end of the 1962 campaign.

Coached by Head Coach Carl "Zig" Williams, along with assistants Ron Brawner and Larry Langley, the seniors on the squad were members of the two previously undefeated teams.

In 1963 the team finished as District Champions at 11-0, and in 1964 the squad finished at 10-0 with all seven seniors chosen as All-District performers.

The 1965 team being honored Friday extended the unbeaten streak to 25 games, as they went 6-3-1. In the season opener the Tribe beat Mountain Home, and in the second game they tied Pocahontas 0-0 in a driving rain. This set up a loss to Corning, which ended the streak. But, the team came back to post a winning record, and All-District honors were afforded to seniors Sam Williams, Jim Seal and J.E. Pritchett, who also was named to the All-State Team.

Organizers are unsure how many of the players will be on hand, but in addition to Williams, Seal and Pritchett those who are still living include-Ken Roden, Jerry Moore, Mitchell Holifield, Dan Newton, Frank Davis, Sam Porterfield, Mick Graddy, Phillip Toombs, Pat McCarron, Gary Gidcomb, Kerry Winberry, Michael Bare, Gary Bradford, Melvin Bradford, Rick Baty, Mike Faucett, Frank Staples, Sam Jewell, Floyd Landrum, Mike Mann, Junior Webster, Greg Walker, Rickie Pounds and Davey Winberry. Members of the team who are deceased include Joe Johnson, Danny Rogers, Larry Martin, Jerry Sample, David Polsgrove, Edwin Brawner, Clay Hamon and David Coil.

The members of the team on hand Friday night will join the team for pre-game activities, walk to the field from the old gym and serve as honorary captains for the coin toss. Kick-off is set for 7 p.m. at Parker Field.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: