County Races Develop for March Primaries

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Filing for the March preferential primary election ended at noon on Monday, Nov. 9, and two county-wide races are set in Clay County.

Former State Rep. Mike Patterson of Piggott is facing Jeff Young of Pollard for Clay County Judge in the Democratic primary.

Meanwhile, Sheriff Terry Miller of Corning has drawn opposition from the man he replaced, as Gerald McClung of Rector has thrown his hat into the ring and they'll also meet in the Democratic primary.

The remaining county elected officials all filed for re-election and will stand unopposed in the Democratic primary. The incumbents include County Clerk Pat Poole, Circuit Clerk Janet Luff-Kilbreath, Treasurer Carolyn Morrisett, Assessor Tracy Gurley and Coroner Paul Wayne Hoggard.

A total of eight of the nine JPs are running for re-election unopposed, including Richie Culver in district one, Mike Hill in district two, Jody Henderson in district three, David Cagle in district four, Jeff Douglas in district five, Dennis Haines in district six, Greg Ahrent in district seven and John Mansker in district nine. Duane Blanchard is running as a Republican for the district eight seat which had been occupied by Jim Clifton, who had been appointed to fill-out an unexpired term.

Under state law an appointed JP cannot seek re-election to the seat unless no one else files to seek the position. This provision also allows Mike Hill to serve another term for district two, despite the fact he was filling out the unexpired term of the late Ryan Rogers.

Constables filing, and running unopposed, included Gary Dunlap at Pollard, Ricky Wyss for Payne and Swain, Mike Mansker of Bennett and Lemmons, Terry Ladd for Gleghorn and South Kilgore, James A. Clifton in Brown and Carpenter, Vernie Carpenter in Cleveland and North Kilgore and Elmo Hollis in North St. Francis.

Two Democrats have filed for constable from East Oak Bluff, as Todd Watson and Alan Cavaness will meet in the primary.

In West Oak Bluff, Constable Fred Bucy is facing Farren Young in the Democratic primary, with the winner slated to meet Republican Terry Robertson in the General Election.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: