PHS Spring Sports Assembly Held

Thursday, May 26, 2016
During the Piggott High School Spring Sports Awards Assembly special recognition was given to Frank Staples (right). A volunteer coach for the track and cross country teams, and unofficial Mohawk photographer, Staples is a tireless supporter of the PHS sports teams. At the assembly, he was presented with a special plaque of appreciation by Mohawk Coach Michael Harrell.(courtesy photo)

Piggott High School hosted the annual springs sports assembly recently in the new gym, as athletes from late winter and spring sports were recognized. During the assembly post season honors were handed out to basketball, baseball, softball and track participants, along with members of the Mohawk cheerleading squad.

The awards for girl's basketball were handed out by assistant coach Melissa Turner, as both the junior and senior high teams were recognized.

Girl's Basketball

For the Junior Lady Mohawks, the offensive award went to Graci Patterson, the defensive award went to Taylor Seal and the teammate award was given to Madison Rahn. Patterson was also presented with the Miss Mohawk award for the team.

Honors distributed to members of the Lady Mohawk senior basketball team included All-Conference recognition for Braelyn Rhodes and Devyn Staples. Rhodes was also recognized for being named All-State and was recipient of the team's offensive award. This year's defensive award went to Colby Crossfield, who along with Rhodes was also recognized for being named to the Kell Classic All Tournament team.

Meanwhile, this year's teammate award was shared by Madison Pool and Rhodes. And, the coveted Miss Mohawk award went to Staples for her play on the hardwood.


Awards for the cheerleaders was handed out by sponsor Connie Vaughn at the assembly. Named as Most Spirited was Elizabeth Hobbs, while the teammate award went to Haley Zacek. And, the Outstanding Cheerleader and Captain's Award for the 2015-2016 school year went to Ashlee Vaughn.

Girl's Track

A number of awards were handed out to members of the Lady Mohawk track team by Coach Paul Seegraves, who took over in mid-season from Coach Walter Rau.

For the junior high team, the district runner-up 4x100 relay team was recognized, and included Macey Williams, Shalyn Lewis, Maddie Reeves and Bailey Davis. The 4x400 relay team were also district runner-ups, and included Lewis, Reeves, Davis and Emma Shaw.

Taylor Seal earned a variety of awards and honors, as she was recognized as the district runner-up in the long jump, 100 meter dash and 200 meter dash. She was also honored as the district champion in the 100 meter hurdles, and the top eighth grader in the state in class 3A, and as district champ in the 400 meter dash, and for posting the top time in the state in class 3A for an eighth grader.

This year's impact award went to Bailey Davis for the junior team, and Maddie Reeves was the rookie of the year. Finally, Seal was also recipient of the outstanding track and field athlete award for the junior girl's team.

For the senior Lady Mohawk track team, Emilee Seegraves was recognized as the district champion in the 3200 meter run, and as a state qualifier. This year's impact award went to Molly Daffron and the rookie of the year award was given to Brazilian foreign exchange student Denise Cury. And, the outstanding track and field athlete for the senior girl's team went to Ebonie Arriola.

Boy's Track

The Mohawk track teams enjoyed another successful spring, with both the junior and senior teams notching conference championships.

For the junior high team, Ben Holcomb was recognized as the conference champion in the 1600 meter run and Dylan Bellers was honored as the conference champ in the shot put. Bellers was also the conference runner-up in the discus, and the 4x100 relay team was also conference runner-ups with members Jacob Scott, Mason Tillman, Lane Buchanan and Gunner Shaw.

As for the senior team, those recognized as conference champions were Logan Dixon in the 100 meter dash, Caleb Welborn in the 1600 meter run and Spencer Hardin in the 3200 meter run. Dixon also finished as the conference runner up in the 200 meter, while Welborn was runner up in the 3200 meter run to his teammate.

The 4x400 relay team was the conference runner-ups, with members Justin Goding, Hayden Lemmons, John Jones and Logan Dixon. Meanwhile, the 4x800 relay team also finished as conference runner-ups with members Brett Burns, Gunner Shaw, Spencer Hardin and Caleb Welborn.

Seth Lacey took the conference title in the shot put, with Nate Mallard close behind in second. At the 3A state track meet the following week Mallard edged his older teammate, taking third overall in the state while Lacey posted a fourth place finish overall.

View 1 comment
Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. Please note that those who post comments on this website may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.
  • Way to go Frank Staples. Well-deserved recognition.

    -- Posted by STidwell on Fri, Jul 1, 2016, at 9:32 AM
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: