Piggott Summer Tennis League Held

Thursday, July 28, 2016
Top junior girls division players in the tennis league held in Piggott were, from left: Callie Henson, Macey Williams, Destini Chase, Emma Langley and Autumn Covert.(courtesy photos)

It's been a busy summer at the Piggott public tennis courts, as long-time Mohawk coach Paul Seegraves has been conducting summer league play. The leagues took part in bracket play for both boys and girls, in two age divisions, and then played a season-ending tournament.

Junior girls

There were a total of eight young ladies who participated in the summer league for girls in the eighth grade, and younger. They were placed in two divisions for pool play, with Destini Chase winning the red division while Autumn Covert won the black division. The tournament was held July 14, although Libby Brantley was unable to participate.

Top players in the girl's senior division were, from left: Brooke Roberts, Callie Henson, Emilee Seegraves, Destini Chase and Britany Hobbs.

In the first round Covert beat Emma Langley, Macey Williams downed Audrey Little and Callie Henson got by Emma Riddle. In the semi-finals it was Chase over Covert while Williams defeated Henson. The third place match went to Henson, as she defeated Covert.

In the finals it was Chase with a 5-3 win over Williams, as she took the title for the third year in a row.

In the consolation bracket, Riddle defeated Little in the first round and Langley beat Riddle in the final.

The top players in the junior boys division were, from left: Jackson Howell, Brandon Palmer, Shawn-Hudson Seegraves, Alex Garver and Kade Johnson.

Junior boys

A total of 11 boys were in the summer league for grades eight and under, and were placed in three divisions for pool play. Shawn-Hudson Seegraves took the red division, Alex Garver won the black division and Kade Johnson took the white division title. The tournament was played July 18, although Nate Brantley was unable to participate.

In first round play it was Nicky Risner over Cason Maynard and Aaron Mauldin beat Adam Fuller. In the second round Seegraves advanced over Risner, Garver beat Colton Higgins, Jackson Howell downed Mauldin and Brandon Palmer beat Johnson.

Top players in the senior boys division were, from left: Andy Risner, Shawn-Hudson Seegraves, Caleb Higgins, Cooper Harris, and Carrington McDaniel.

Seegraves downed Garver in one of the semi-finals, with Palmer defeating Howell in the other. Garver then went on to beat Howell in the third place game, while Seegraves took the title over Palmer. This mark's Seegraves' fourth straight junior division title.

In the consolation bracket, Higgins downed Maynard in the first round and Johnson beat Fuller. In the semi-finals it was Mauldin over Higgins and Johnson over Risner. The consolation final went to Johnson, as he defeated Mauldin.

Senior girls

There were eight girls in this year's summer league for girls in grades 12 and under, and all played in one division for pool play. Emilee Seegraves was division champion, and the tournament was played July 19. Unable to play were Shi Higdon and Macey Williams.

In the first round Callie Henson beat Brooke Roberts and Britany Hobbs downed Covert by default.

Seegraves advanced over Henson in the semi-finals and Chase defeated Hobbs. Henson then went on to take the third place match over Hobbs in a tie-breaker.

In the championship it was Seegraves over Chase, as she took her fourth straight senior girls division title. Meanwhile, Roberts defeated Covert by default in the consolation final.

Senior boys

This year's senior boys division attracted eight players, and they were placed in two divisions for pool play. Winner of the red division was Seegraves, while Cooper Harris took the black division. They played their tournament on July 21, although Brandon and Michael Palmer were unable to participate.

In the first round it was Harris over Andy Risner, while Carrington McDaniel beat Jackson Howell. Seegraves downed Harris in one of the semi-finals, while McDaniel dispatched Caleb Higgins in the other.

Higgins took the third place game with a win over Harris, while Seegraves beat McDaniel in the championship. Later, Risner defeated Howell for the consolation championship.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: