Piggott Area Chamber of Commerce Banquet Held

Thursday, October 20, 2016
Members of the Piggott Police Department and Clay County Sheriff's Department were treated to dinner at Tuesday night's Piggott Area Chamber of Commerce banquet and awards ceremony. (TD photo/Tim Blair)

The annual Piggott Area Chamber of Commerce annual banquet and awards ceremony was held Tuesday, Oct. 11, with a good crowd in attendance at the community center. This year's theme was "Promote Your Business" and a number of members participated in the annual table decorating contest.

President Shawn Parker, completing his third year of service, welcomed the crowd, served as the master of ceremonies and asked the blessing.

Next, he introduced Piggott Mayor Jim Poole, who had the opportunity to introduce a number of local dignitaries and office holders who were on hand. Special guests this year were members of local law enforcement, who were treated to the meal and recognized for their ongoing contributions. This year the dinner was catered by Hog Wild Barbecue.

For the second year in a row, the entry by Madpie's Flea Market and Tea Room took both the Judge's WOW Factor Award, and the People's Choice, in the table decorating contest.(TD photo/Tim Blair)

During the meal Parker presented his president's report to the membership, outlining various improvements and economic growth in the past 12 months. He also reported the chamber now has 126 voting members.

Following the dinner the annual awards ceremony was held, and the winners of the table decorating contest were named. The chamber also recognized bronze and gold sponsors.

Those recognized as bronze members were Aerial Bouquets, Glen Sain Motors, MFA Midsouth Agri Services, Piggott Community Hospital and W. B. Russell Transportation. The gold sponsors are Piggott State Bank and First National Bank, Piggott Banking Center.

Parker then announced the winners of the various specialty awards, with chamber vice president Pam Fry handing out the certificates. The winners were as follows--Blue Sky Storehouse was recipient of the "Service With a Smile" award, with Nikki Blue accepting the recognition. The educator of the year was PES counselor, and Piggott Schools testing coordinator, Barbara Batey. Accepting the farmer of the year award was the Debbie and Terry Pollard family. Emergency personnel of the year recognition went to John Kennedy, of Survival Flight. The volunteer of the year award was given to Chris Roberts, who was unable to attend as he was serving as the P.A. announcer for the peewee Mohawk football game, in which his son was also participating. This year's award for organization of the year went to a relative newcomer, as the Community Alliance was honored. On hand to accept the recognition were just two of the many people involved in the effort, Raquel Crawford and Penny Toombs. The "Taste of Piggott" award this year went to Los Compadres Restaurant, with owner Vincente Garcia accepting the recognition. Meanwhile, this year's beautification award went to First National Bank, Piggott Banking Center, with Rhonda Phillips on hand to accept. And, there were co-winners in the Youth of the Year Award, as PHS students Hannah Powell and Georgina Bautista earned the recognition. The two combined to take first place in the district, state and national FBLA competition for Business Preparations. The students, also members of the Lady Mohawk volleyball team, were playing in a match at Trumann and unable to attend. Accepting on their behalf were their fathers.

There was also a tie for the annual "You Made it Happen" award with recognition going to both the local school district and the coach of the football Mohawks. Accepting on behalf of the Piggott School District was PHS principal Barry DeHart, as the chamber recognized the district for the many improvements made over the course of the past few years. The other recipient was PHS graduate, and current Mohawk football coach, Michael Harrell. Now in his third year leading the program, Harrell has brought with him to the job a new attitude which has led to success. He, along with his assistant coaches, have also instilled a new level of responsibility and accountability among the players, encouraging more community involvement. The program has also prospered thanks to fundraising efforts, which has allowed the addition of thousands of dollars in new equipment and upraded facilities.

Late in the meeting Parker also announced the winners of the table decorating contest, with last year's winner again making a strong showing. The award for most elegant table went to the Matilda and Karl Pfeiffer Museum, with Teresa Taylor accepting on behalf of the local museum. The most creative award went to the table entered by Cox Lumber Company, with Jamey Parks accepting the award. And, it was a sweep for the top two awards, "Judges Favorite for the WOW Factor" and "People's Choice" as the entry by Madpie's Flea Market and Tea Room took home both.

The evening closed with the completion of the silent auction, which included dozens of items donated by local merchants and individuals.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: