Graduation Set for Rector and Piggott

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Graduation ceremonies will be held Sunday afternoon at both Rector and Piggott High Schools. RHS will hold their at 2 p.m. with PHS following at 3:00, both in the high school gyms.


The 34 members of the Rector High School Class of 2017 will bid farewell to high school days, taking the first steps toward their lives beyond the familiar hallways and courses when they receive diplomas in graduation ceremonies beginning at 2 p.m. Sunday, May 14, at the school gymnasium.

Graduates will enter to a processional played by the RHS Concert Band, directed by Daniel Van Aalsberg. The invocation will be given by Honor Student Blake LaRue. Valedictorian Avery Bucy and Salutatorian Matison Dean will give their respective addresses prior to the presentation of awards by high school principal Wade Williams.

Superintendent Johnny Fowler will present the Class of 2017. Diplomas will be presented by Rector School Board president Jody Simmons.

Graduates will join in singing the class song, "Come Together", and RHS alumni will join the class in singing the school Alma Mater.

The Benediction will be given by Honor Student Dominique Coln preceding the recessional by the RHS Concert Band.

Other Honor Students are Sarah Isom, Shelby Ward, Blake LaRue, Amber Beck, Dominique Coln, Bailey Hoots and Dalton Murray.

Students who are members of the National Honor Society include Cody Sean Ails, Amber Nicole Beck, Avery Taylor Bucy, Dominique Alexandria Coln, Matison Ann Dean, Bailey Alexis Hoots, Sarah Beth Isom, Blake Cooper LaRue, Dalton Colt Murray, Natalie Suzanne Varner and Shelby Ximena Ward.

Students who have completed programs in Agriculture, Family and Consumer Science or Business/Technology are Cody Sean Ails, Danielle Jean Ballew, Blake Duane Boyd, Avery Taylor Bucy, Doriann Elizabeth Burdin, Dominique Coln, Emily Gabrielle Crouch, Robbie Renae Edwards, Brandon Hunter Ellis, Jagger Allen Ellis, James Ivon Fannin, Jr., Emmaline Faith Hobbs, Bailey Alexis Hoots, Erika Nicole Howe, Sabrina Lynn Johnson, Blake Cooper LaRue, Michael Shane Loveless, Jr., Mackenzie Nicole McCluskey, Dalton Colt Murray, Morgan Weslee Helen Bickford Parrish, Chance Scott, Alec Reese Smith, Tyler Nicholas Tinnin, Easton Thomas Tracy, Natalie Suzanne Varner and Shelby Ximena Ward.

Other member of the class are Cobi Alexis Buck, Nickkota Cheyenne Gunn, Dennis James Moore, Case Montgomery Watson and Lonnie Franklin Doyle Yancey.

Ushers for the evening will be Haleigh Ellis, Sydney Wofford, Sam Simmons and Caine Walker.


Sunday afternoon a group of 54 seniors will bid farewell to Piggott High School for the final time, and begin the next chapter of their lives, as graduation is held for 2017. Commencement exercises will be held beginning at 3 p.m. in the PHS gym.

This year's class officers include president Kourtney Chadwell, vice president Abby Haley, secretary Jaessa Threatt and representatives Brooke Moore and Noah Fuller.

The class motto is--'together we have experience life. Separately we will pursue our dreams. Forever, our memories will remain.” And, the class song is “I'm Not Gonna Cry” by Corey Smith.

Class sponsors include Linda Rouse, Alissa Seal, Andrea Nanney, Jeremy Wortham, Casey Simpson and Shawn Hearn.

Led by the honor graduates, the class of 2017 will enter the gym to the processional “Pomp and Circumstance,” performed by the Piggott High School Band.

This year's honor grads include Colby Crossfield, Kourtney Chadwell, Grayson Murray, Jazzmyne Mills, Bret Fuller, Hailey Hilfiker, Abby Haley, Madison Martin, Beth Chavez, Ally Taylor, Katie Dobbins and Noah Fuller.

The first speaker of the after will be class valedictorian, although as of Tuesday afternoon there was a tie among the top three grads and it was unclear who would deliver the valedictory address.

Afterward the PHS choir, under the direction of Ellen Meadows, will perform special selections.

The salutatorian will be the next speaker on the program, and will offer the traditional address.

Following his address, the scholarships and awards will be handed out by Amber Harrell, Piggott High School counselor.

After the various scholarships and awards are handed out, Piggott Superintendent Charlie Powell will present the class of 2017 for graduation and diplomas will be handed out.

Following the distribution of the diplomas, and the ceremonial flipping of the tassels, the graduating class will join together to sing the PHS Alma Mater and conclude the festivities with the traditional shower of mortarboard caps.

The new graduates will then exit the gym to the recessional, once again performed by the PHS Band.

The remaining members of this years class are—Sophi Jewell Adams, Trevon Raynell Allen, Alexander Blake Baber, Alyssa Kay Bracken, Baylor Jase Burkman, Caitlyn Joann Campbell, Bridget Cloninger, Norman Lewis Collins, III, Devon Christian Dominick, Aston Slade Ezell Edwards, McCaleh Bionca Deshea' Foulk, Justin Patrick Goding, Jr., Devyn Cheyenne Gremard, Cutler Clay Guite, Tyler Keith Haygood, Alyssa D'anne Herrington, Caleb Mitchell Higgins, Elizabeth Nichole Hobbs, Jeffery Scott Holle, Cody Bryan Horn, Jacob Alan Householder, Hunter Joseph Jackson, Austin Ray Magee, Peyton Isaac Mann, Gaige Patric Martin, Alexandria Elizabeth McDaniel, John Willima Claburn McHaffey, Jacob James Miller, Ashlyn Brooke Moody, Paige Elizabeth Nelson, Jillian Marie Noles, Caleb Gage Riddle, Kindal Olivia Risinger, Andrew Lloyd Risner, Haylee Danielle Samples, Jimmy Wayne Smith, Jr., Alexander Scott Treat and Sarah Faith Wikowsky.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: