Piggott Picnic a Success

Thursday, July 13, 2017
The traditional fireworks display at the conclusion of the picnic once-again proved to be a crowd-pleaser.
TD photo/Tim Blair

Despite the threat of an afternoon shower, turnout was good for the 90th edition of the Piggott Fourth of July Picnic and Parade, held Tuesday, July 4. The annual picnic is held each year to provide financial support, and continued upkeep, of Piggott's Memorial Cemetery.

This year's schedule of activities actually kicked-off on Friday, June 30, with several of the annual reunions and the Mohawk alumni football game at Parker Field. Additional reunions were also held on Saturday, as a number of PHS classes gathered.

A late afternoon thundershower on Monday forced organizers to move the first three pageants to nearby Piggott Elementary School, and washed-out the carnival midway for the evening.

In the first pageant of the year Young Junior Miss Piggott was crowned. Chosen as this year's queen was Kristen McCord, the nine year old daughter of Jarrod and Jennifer McCord of Rector. First alternate was Handley Grace McAtee, the 10 year old daughter of Bart and Laurie McAtee of Kennett and second alternate was Nyla Dees, the 11 year old daughter of Tessa Dees and Matt Dees, both of Piggott.

Up next was the Junior Miss Piggott Pageant, with this year's crown awarded to Elise Gossett. She's the 13 year old daughter of Daniel and Mistie Gossett of Piggott. First alternate was Madison Blair Steward, the 16 year old daughter of Kyle and Brooke Steward of Holcomb and second alternate was Jennifer Hanners, 16 year old daughter of Alex and Shannon Hanners of Puxico.

To close the first evening of pageants, Mrs. Piggott was chosen for 2017. This year's queen is Samantha L. Featherston, 28, of Pollard. A PHS grad, she's the wife of Gus Featherston. First alternate was Jessica Wilson, 22, of Rector, the wife of Kris Wilson. And, second alternate was Amanda Smart, 32, of Piggott, the wife of Richard Smart.

Much better weather was on tap for Tuesday morning, and a large number of entrants lined up for the annual parade. Serving as Grand Marshal this year was U.S. Army veteran Tom Sneed, who was accompanied along the parade route by his grandkids, Emilee and Shawn-Hudson Seegraves.

The complete list of parade winners may be found elsewhere in this edition.

Following the parade, the opening ceremonies were held at the grandstand with Piggott Mayor Jim Poole offering the welcome. The Marching Mohawk band performed the National Anthem, and several selections, and a variety of speakers were featured.

Introduced by Clay County Judge Mike Patterson, the crowd heard from State Senator Blake Johnson, State Rep. Joe Jett, Second Judicial District Prosecuting Atty. Scott Ellington, Land Commission John Thurston—who is seeking the position of Secretary of State, and two candidates for his current job. Throughout the remainder of the day the other pageants were held, and live entertainment was featured on the grandstand.

Chosen as Baby Mister Piggott for this year was Bentley Seal, the seven month old son of Erica Cluck and Brian Seal of Piggott. First alternate was Lyle Ferguson, the seven month old son of Adam and Cynthia Ferguson of Campbell and second alternate was Kage Lee Scott, the eight month old son of Brittany Brummel and Dusty Scott of Rector. Meanwhile, crowned as Baby Miss Piggott 2017 was Kelsi Ray Malin, the nine month old daughter of Gerald and Kelli Malin of Campbell. First alternate was Olivia Ferguson, the seven month old daughter of Adam and Cynthia Ferguson of Campbell and second alternate was Mattie Ann Mobley, the six month old daughter of Matthew and Heather Mobley of Paragould.

Afterward, the toddler contests were held. Crowned Tiny Miss Piggott for 2017 was Blakely Kendall Calhoun, the 18 month old daughter of Nick and Samantha Calhoun of Paragould. First alternate was Caroline Midkiff, the 14 month old daughter of Ethan and Kristin Midkiff of Paragould and second alternate was Gracelyn Renae' McWilliams, 13 month old daughter of Garrett and Des'Re McWilliams of St. Francis. In the boy's contest, crowned Tiny Mister Piggott for this year was Preston Parnell, the 18 month old son of Brittany Austin and Alex Parnell of Paragould. First alternate was Quinn Parker Brown, the one year old son of Tallah and Scott Brown of Piggott and second alternate was Rex Cossey, 15 month old son of Jessica and Lee Cossey of Brookland.

Little Mister Piggott was Drew Hampton, the four year old son of Brian and Rebecca Hampton of Corning. First alternate was Alex Estes, the two year old son of Keith and Haley Estes of Piggott and there was a tie for second alternate between Ethan Brummel, the three year old son of Brittany Brummel and Dusty Scott of Rector and Clate Hulen Whitaker, the three year old son of Dustin Whitaker of Mt. Home.

The final pageant of the afternoon was Little Miss Firecracker, and the queen was Reese Carr, the eight year old daughter of Kendra and Jason Carr of Glennonville. First alternate was Brileigh Daniels, the seven year old daughter of Anthony Foster and Emily Parson of Piggott and second alternate was Laney Benson, the five year old daughter of Landon and Hayley Benson of Qulin.

Following the Little Miss Firecracker pageant the crowd was treated to gospel music by a group of local singers and musicians. Afterward, the band Fault Line took to the stage and entertained prior to the Miss Piggott pageant Tuesday evening.

Crowned Miss Piggott for 2017 was Ashleigh Bedwell, the 18 year old daughter of Treg and Dena Bedwell of Campbell. First alternate was Rianna Kae Holloway the 19 year old daughter of Rickie and Angel Holloway of Campbell and second alternate was Courtney Roberts, 18 year old daughter of Tammie Roberts of Holcomb. In addition to the crown and trophy, she also received a $500 scholarship courtesy of Piggott State Bank.

Additional local talent was featured following the pageant, and leading up to the annual fireworks display—sponsored by First National Bank-Piggott Banking Center. Afterward, picnic organizers held the drawings for the three $5,000 prizes and the winners were—June Williams of Piggott, Patricia Branum of Kennett and Kim Adams of Piggott.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: