Annual Piggott Chamber of Commerce Banquet Held

Thursday, October 19, 2017
The annual Piggott Area Chamber of Commerce banquet and dinner meeting was held Tuesday, Oct. 10, with a larger-than-usual crowd in attendance. There were also a record number of participants in the table decorating contest, giving the community center a bright fall-colored look.
TD photo/Tim Blair

A large crowd packed the Piggott Community Center the evening of Tuesday, Oct. 10, as the Piggott Area Chamber of Commerce held its annual banquet, dinner meeting and awards ceremony. During the gathering the chamber recognized corporate and business members along with their board of directors, and the annual awards were handed-out. This year several new awards were added to the line-up.

The meeting was called to order with a word of welcome by board member Tonya May, and the invocation was given by Timothy Risner. Those in attendance then turned their attention to the delicious catered meal, served by one of this year's award winners—The Hen House.

Following the meal chamber vice president Daniel Landrum introduced Piggott Mayor Jim Poole, who had the honor of introducing the special guests in attendance. Next, Landrum gave the annual update of chamber business and efforts from the past year, and previewed upcoming events.

Corporate sponsors were also recognized, including gold members Piggott State Bank and First National Bank, Piggott Banking Center; silver member Black Hills Energy; and bronze members, Aerial Bouquets, Cox Lumber Company, Families Inc., Glen Sain Motors, Greer Electrical Services, MFA MidSouth Agri Services, Piggott Community Hospital, Piggott Pharmacy and W.A. Russell Transportation.

Board members Fallon Russell and Lauren Welch then announced the various award winners, with the recognition plaques handed out by board vice president Pam Fry with assistance from president Nikki Blue.

Winner of the “You Made it Happen” award for this year was local volunteer Geraldine Crawford. She has been instrumental in a number of fundraising efforts, most notably for the Make-A-Wish Foundation.

Selected for this year's “Service With a Smile” award was Deanna Robinson of the Freds store in Piggott. She was presented with her recognition by Fry, the local store manager.

Organizers noted there was a tie for this year's “Educator of the Year” award between PHS principal Paul Seegraves and teacher/cheerleader sponsor Jenna Mobley.

Named as this year's “Farmer of the Year” was Scott Hartwell and earning recognition as the “Emergency/Medical Personnel of the Year” was local physician and EMS coordinator for PHS, Dr. Greg Mallard.

Earning the recognition as “Business of the Year” was Hoggard and Sons Funeral Home while the new award of “Rising Star Business” went to Piggott Pharmacy. Taking home top honors in the “Taste of Piggott” category was The Hen House.

This year's “Lifetime Achievement Award” also went to Hoggard and Sons Funeral Home, and the beautification award was also presented to a long-time local firm as Cox Lumber Company took home those honors for their recent renovation project.

Recognized as this year's “Youth of the Year” were the members of the Piggott High School Mohawk football team, who were represented at the banquet by the senior members of the squad.

Event organizers also report there was a tie for the “Heart of Piggott” award, with recognition going to both Tracy Cole and Rodney Rouse. Accepting on behalf of Rouse, who was not in attendance, was Fallon Winscott of FNB.

The next order of business was the recognition for those taking part in the table decorating contest, which saw a record number of entries. The entry considered “Most Elegant” was made by the Piggott High School FCCLA; this year's winner for “Most Creative” was by Cox Lumber Company; the judge's favorite for the “Wow Factor” was the entry by the Piggott High School FBLA chapter and the “Visitor's Choice” award went to the Halloween-themed entry by The Treasure Chest.

After the awards were handed out, the silent auction of donated items concluded.

In addition to Landrum, Blue, Fry, Russell, Welch and May the board members include at large member Charlie Powell, Andy Neeley of PCH, Jerrod Lowe of Hoggard and Sons, Stephanie Lowe of Hoggard and Sons, Donna Fair of Aerial Bouquets and Daniel Steen of Steen's Auto and Farm. The chamber secretary is Jan Glover.

All those who are not members of the Piggott Area Chamber of Commerce are urged to join. Corporate memberships range from $1,000 for a gold membership, $500 for a silver and $250 for a bronze. Businesses with one person listed as member may join for $65 per year, with additional employee $10 each. Individual memberships are $25 a year, while those for senior citizens 65 or older who are retired are $10 per year.

Those wanting additional information on membership opportunities may contact Glover at 870 598-3167.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: