PHS Hosting Powderpuff Football Game

Thursday, November 2, 2017
The coaches and captain for the junior team competing in the PHS Powderpuff football game include, from left: Coach Dylan Bellers, Captain Ashley Jeffries, Coach Luke Boyd and Coach Trey Gossett.
courtesy photo

The Piggott High School FCCLA is sponsoring a powderpuff football game, with kickoff scheduled for 6 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 7, at Parker Field.

Admission is three dollars for students and four dollars for adults, and the concession stand will be open with extra-special treats for the event.

Each game will be 20 minutes long, with the clock running throughout the contest. The first game will feature the freshmen girls taking on the sophomores, followed by a halftime show presented by the Powderpuff Cheer Squad. Afteward, the juniors will take on the seniors. In the nightcap, the two winners will meet in a playoff game for the championship.

The freshmen players will be coached by Head Coach Tanner Dixon, Assistant Coach Kyson Conley and Assistant Coach Michael Parker. The ninth grade players include--Macey Williams, Maddie Reeves, Destini Chase, Annalee Massey, Emma Shaw, Rylea Harmon, Brooke Roberts, Claire Bellers, Shalyn Lewis, Hannah Speer, and Jordan Leggett.

Coaches for the sophomores are Head Coach Sky Wright, Assistant Coach Dalton James and Assistant Coach Drake Featherston. The players for the 10th grade are--Taylor Seal, Madison Rahn, Abby Dutka, Jordan Tate, Shi Higdon, Kaylee Smith, Kassidy Krause, Maggie Williams and Taylor Williams.

Juniors will be coached by Head Coach Trey Gossett, Assistant Coach Luck Boyd and Assistant Coach Dylan Bellers. Players for the 11th grade include--Ashley Jefferies, Harley Earnheart, Hayley Springsteen, Willow Lewis, Avery Little, Jaclyn Helms, Katelyn Jackson, Brielle Burkman, Megan Marcus, Bailey Davis and Shelby Howard.

Senior coaches include, Head Coach Cade Harrell, Assistant Coach Elijah Bellers and Assistant Coach Nate Mallard. Players for the 12th grade are--Lexie Herren, Hayley Zacek, Madison Pool, Sydney Risinger, Emily Trosper, Erin Dixon, Reagan Ralph, Emily Massey, Ashley Grissom, Emilee Seegraves and Hannah Smart.

Of course, no football game would be complete with a cheer squad and the powderpuff contest is no exception. This year the cheer squad is coached by Head Cheer Coach Sydney Risinger, Assistant Cheer Coach Madison Pool and Assistant Cheer Coach Haley Zacek. The cheer squad includes--Gunner Shaw, Zac Gilbee, Alex Tharp, Mason Tillman, Spencer Hardin, James Andrews, Nicholas Maldonade, Jake Shaw, Quentin Reeves, Corbin Midkiff, Dylan West, Lane Buchahan and Devin Riley.

“The excitement is growing among the high school students. It should be interesting to see the coaching skills of the student coaches, as they let their years of football experience guide them during their coaching debut,” noted organizer and FCCLA advisor Sandra Little. “Also, the Powderpuff cheerleaders should be very entertaining with their stunts and cheers.”

The community is invited, and encouraged to attend, what should be an exciting and entertaining evening.

“Come see what these girls are made of,” Little surmised.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: