Piggott City Market Nominated for Delta By-Ways Award

Thursday, February 22, 2018
Piggott's City Market has been recognized with a nomination for a Delta By-Ways Award.
TD photo/Tim Blair

The 18th annual Delta Byways Awards, recognizing tourism achievement in Eastern Arkansas, will be presented during festivities Friday evening, Feb. 23, at the Marianna Civic Center, 593 Highway 243, in Marianna. Among those nominated for the Entrepreneur Award is Piggott City Market.

The evening will begin with a 5:30 p.m. silent auction, followed by the dinner and awards at 7 p.m. The event is sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways with support from the City of Marianna.

Nominated for the Entrepreneur Award is Piggott City Market, owned by Joe and Tracy Cole of Piggott. Also nominated were Delta Charme Gift Shoppe of Marked Tree and The Don Houseworth Family of Blytheville.

Also from Clay County, the Corning Welcome Center has been nominated for the Tourism Support/Promotional Award for their eclipse watch party. Also nominiated was Lakeport Plantation for Lakeport Legacies and the Marianna Regional Chamber of Commerce for their Christmas extravaganza.

Nominated for the Media Support Award are East Arkansas Broadcasters, the Jonesboro Sun and Rex Nelson. Up for the Hospitality Award are Renee Robison of Stuttgart; Trumann Chamber of Commerce and Wilson Community Gardens of Mississippi County.

The events nominated for the Festival Event of the year are the Annual Duck Gumbo Cook-off in Stuttgart; the annual Sultana Heritage Festival of Marion and the inaugural Johnny Cash Heritage Festival of Dyess.

Those being considered for the Boot Strap Award are Helena Downtown Partnership, Marked Tree Fire Department and the McGehee Men's Club of Desha County.

Nominated for the Cultural Heritage Award are the Art and Architecture Tours of St. Mary's Catholic Church of Helena; The Circle at ASU and Martin Taylor House and Hollywood Plantation at Winchester, in Drew County.

The Outstanding Member and Tourism Person of the Year will also be announced.

Arkansas Delta Byways, located on the Arkansas State University campus, is a nonprofit organization recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas. Counties include Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.

The annual awards event is open to the public. Tickets are $30 per person or a table of eight for $225. Those wanting additional information on ticket availability may contact Gretchen Sacotnik, 870-573-6751 or by email at gretchen.sacotnik@arkansas.gov

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: