Graduation Day at Hand for RHS and MHS

Thursday, May 3, 2018
Rector High School valedictorian Sydney Wofford

Graduation day for the seniors of 2018 at both Rector and Marmaduke high schools will be held Sunday.


Forty seniors are scheduled to enter the next phase of life as Rector High School hosts graduation ceremonies at 2 p.m. this Sunday, May 6. School officials moved the event back to the earlier date to avoid conflict with Mother’s Day.

Candidates will enter the gym in their traditional Cougar blue caps and gowns to Pomp and Circumstance, played by the Rector Cougar Concert Band, directed by Daniel VanAalsburg. The invocation will be offered by Sydney Wofford who is the class Valedictorian. Wofford will deliver her address as will Hunter McNeely, Salutatorian, prior to the presentation of awards by high school principal Nate Henderson.

Honor graduates, in addition to Wofford and McNeely, are Kirk Beshears, Brianna Glasco, Adria Kemper, Samantha Urbanski, Garret Burns, and Tabor Trail. Current National Honor Society members in good standing are Mckenzie Baker, Kirk Beshears, Jada Bracken, Garret Burns, Briaa Glasco, Kyleigh Huckabay, Hunter McNeely, Tabor Trail, Samantha Urbanski, Rhoda Walker, and Sydney Wofford. New members of NHS will be announced and inducted on May 3 at the Honors Day Celebration.

Superintendent Johnny Fowler will present the Class of 2018 and diplomas will be awarded by Rector School Board President Jody Simmons. The class, whose class motto is “Life consists not in holding good cards but in playing those you hold well,” will make the individual walk across the stage to receive their diplomas, symbolizing a leaving behind of high school days and a greeting of future possibilities in the years to come. Graduates will sing the school’s Alma Mater and Nick Mesa will close the ceremony with a benediction.

Students who have completed programs in Family and Consumer Sciences Education are Raven Beltz, Joshua Aaron, Eternitei Lindsey, Bradley James McMillin, Hunter Gage, Brandon Lee Shelton, and Rhonda Walker. Completers in Child Care Guidance, Management, and Services are Kirk Lin Beshears, Jada Nicole Bracken, Brianna Lynn Glasco, Kyleigh Hunter Huckabay, Adria Nicole Kemper, Eternitei Lindsey, Rhonda Walker, and Sydney Wofford. Completing the course of study for Insurance and Risk Management are Brianna Glasco, Frank Herrera, Kyleigh Huckabay, Samuel Stahl, Rhonda Walker, and Sydney Wofford.


Marmaduke High School will host graduation ceremonies for the class of 2018 beginning at 3 p.m. on Sunday, May 6. Fifty-eight seniors are scheduled to take part in commecement, as they begin a new chapter in life.

The program will begin with the processional, as the MHS band performs Elgar's Pomp and Circumstance. Those on hand will then be led in the Pledge of Allegiance by honor student Jonah Carpenter, with honor student Josh Carey giving the welcome. The invocation will be said by honor student Derek Agee.

Rachel Taylor, honor student and class vice-president, will then give the class officer's address. She will be followed by co-salutatorian Serena Page, who also serves as class president, and co-salutatorian Kaylee Collins, who serves as class treasurer.

Valedictorian Natalie Lentz will then give the traditional address, following by a performance by the MHS choir.

Honor student Scout Weatherford will have the honor of introducing the speaker. Afterward, Superintendent Tim Gardner will present diplomas to the graduates of the class of 2018. This will be Gardner's final time to award diplomas to the MHS grads, as he'll be retiring at the end of the current school.

The class response will follow, offered by honor student and class secretary Faith Gramling. Honor student Hadleigh Bynum will then have the honor of leading the class in the turning of their rings, and honor student Ashley Latsha will lead them in the traditional flipping of the tassels. Gardner, will then present the class for graduation.

Leading the newly graduated class members in the MHS alma mater will be honor student and student body president Ty Muse, honor student Ryne Strickland and honor student Brittney Dawson.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: