PHS Class of 2018 Set for Graduation Sunday

Thursday, May 10, 2018
PHS valedictorian Hannah Powell
courtesy photo

A large crowd is expected to be on hand Sunday afternoon, as a group of 61 seniors will bid farewell to Piggott High School for the final time. Commencement excercises will be conducted at 3 p.m. Sunday in the PHS gym, as the graduates look forward to beginning the next chapter of their lives.

The PHS class officers for 2018 include-president Sydney Risinger, vice-president Georgina Bautista, secretary Emily Trosper and representatives Emilee Seegraves and Molly Lambert.

The class moto is the anonymous quote --”Looking ahead, but remembering our past” and the class song is “Five More Minutes” by Scotty McCreery. Black and silver are this year's class colors, and the class flower is the carnation.

Class sponsors are Jennifer McPherson, Michael Harrell, Penny Veal, Stacey Peters and April Flowers.

Led by the honor graduates, the class of 2018 will enter the gym to the processional “Pomp and Circumstance,” performed by the Piggott High School Band.

The lone speaker of the afternoon will be class valedictorian Hannah Powell, as she'll offer the valedictory address. This year's salutatorian is Georgina Bautista.

In addition to Bautista and Powell, the other honor grads include Emilee Seegraves, Ashlee Hill, Mollly Williams, Alex Gibson, John Jones, Molly Lambert, Nate Mallard, Brett Burns, Noah Gregory, Lexi Herren, Madison Pool, Emily Massey, Ally Kilbreath, Lauren Pickett, Reed Wilson, Kaleb Chadwell, Ethan Holcomb, Brandon Gilkison, Ashley Grissom, Matt Lockard, Cory Fuller, Cade Harrell and Tori Freeman.

The PHS band will also be performing a special selection, as the senior members of the band join them a final time for "Heaven's Light" by Steven Reineke.

This year's scholarships and awards will be handed-out by PHS counselor Amber Harrell. Special scholarship presentations will also be held, including the Gaylon Lawrence Memorial Scholarships and the Holly Alonzo Memorial Scholarship. Afterward, Superintendent Barry DeHart will present the class for graduation and the diplomas will be distributed by members of the Piggott Schools Board of Education.

After the diplomas have been handed-out, and the ceremonial flipping of the tassels, the graduating class will join together to sing the PHS Alma Mater and conclude the festivities with the traditional shower of mortarboard caps.

The new graduates will then exit the gym to the recessional, once again performed by the PHS Band.

In addition to the honor grads, the members of this years class are—Kenya Baldwin, Elijah Bellers, Mazin Chase, Dillon Clifford, Kyle Dobbins, Colton Dudley, Stefan Gramling, Destiny Hall, Braydon Hanners, Spencer Hardin, Zane Henderson, Adam Huneycutt, Gia Ipina, Molly Lambert, Hayden Lemmons, Kaylea Little, Makenzie Lutz, Joshua Lyman, Reegan Mayberry, Zach McCluskey, Carrington McDaniel, Reagan Ralph, Quentin Reeves, Devin Riley, Sydney Risinger, Jake Shaw, Ericka Smart, Hannah Smart, Erica Stahl, Brier Staples, Kyle Thompson, Emily Trosper, Grace White, A.J. Williamson, Gaithy Wortham and Haley Zacek.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: