Primary and School Board Election Held

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Voters went to the polls Tuesday for the annual preferential primary and school election in Arkansas.

In the only school board race in Clay County, incumbent Bradley Dunlap defeated challenger Tom Powell 396 to 114 in the race for Piggott School Board. The other two county board members, Kim Isom at Rector and Keith Turner at Corning, were running unopposed.

Statewide, in the Republican Primary Gov. Asa Hutchinson easily beat challenger Jan Morgan for the nomination. He polled 466 to 244 in Clay County, and carried the remainder of the state by about the same margin.

For Secretary of State, John Thurston barely edged Trevor Drown in the county, 319 to 312. The other race on the GOP ballot was for Justice of the Peace from District Nine, with David Hatcher beating Robert Jackson 63 to 35.

In the Democratic gubernatorial primary it was Jared Henderson carrying Clay County 172 to 92 over Leticia Sanders.

In the race for Associate Judge of the Arkansas Supreme Court incumbent Courtney Goodson carried Clay County with 414 vote while David Stirling polled 331 and Kenneth Hixson garnered 184 votes.

All of the results are unofficial, and will not be certified for several days.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: