PHS Recognizes Spring Sports Athletes

Thursday, May 24, 2018
Recognition and awards were handed out to several members of the Mohawk baseball team. Pictured are, from left: Quentin Reeves, John Jones, Josh Lyman, Trey Gossett, Dylan Bellers, Luke Boyd, Michael Palmer and HoldenTarno.
TD photo/Tim Blair

Piggott Mohawk athletes from several sports were recognized for their performances at a special awards assembly held Monday, May 21. Members of the Lady Mohawk basketball and softball teams were among those being awarded recognition, along with the Mohawk baseball, basketball and golf teams.

Girls Basketball

Lady Mohawk basketball coach Melissa Hopkins and assistant coach Madison Carr handed out the awards for those teams. Hopkins first introduced the seventh grade players, several of whom played on the junior high squad as well. She then introduced all of the junior high players, and presented them with individual awards.

The offensive player of the year is Claire Bellers, while Callie Henson was named defensive player of the year, and Elise Gossett garnered most improved honors. Bellers, who averaged 13 points a game to lead the team, and had 25 in the district first round win over Manila, was also named All-District from 3A-3.

The other two awards are voted on by the members of the team, who chose to give Alyssa Manor the Teammate Award while naming Bellers as the Miss Mohawk recipient for the year.

The members of the senior high team were then introduced, and the individual recognition was shared. Named offensive player of the year was Taylor Seal, with just under nine points a game, while defensive player of the year went to Abby Dutka who recorded 30 steals. Ryleigh Laden had the highest rebounding average and the most improved award also went to Dutka.

Brielle Burkman was chosen to the 3A-3 All-Conference team. Meanwhile, the teammate award went to Makayla Allman and there was a tie for the Miss Mohawk award, as both Seal and Reagan Ralph received the same number of votes and shared the honor.


Coach Alan Rabjohn handed out the recognition for golf, basketball and baseball during the assembly. He noted the Mohawk golf team were the district champs this year, with Mazin Chase named All-Conference for his performance. Chase, along with Trey Gossett, Issac Langley and Matthew Cheshire also qualified for the state 3A golf tournament.

Boys Basketball

Rabjohn, assisted by recently-named boys head coach Chris Brantley, then handed out the recognition for the Mohawk basketball teams. Rabjohn served as assistant for much of the year, then stepped-in as Coach Seth Meddlen was forced to step-aside late in the season. Recently, Brantley was hired for the job after spending this year student teaching at PHS. He's also the pastor of First General Baptist Church.

Members of the junior high team were introduced first, with recognition handed-out to several junior Mohawks. The offensive award went to Brandon Seal, the defensive award to Ethan Ralph and Bryon Poole was named most improved. Chosen to receive the teammate award by his fellow Mohawks was Hunter Smith. The coaches also presented a new award, which is designed to encourage the players to do their best at all times in an effort to improve, dubbed the challenge award. The recipient for the junior boys was Nate Brantley.

Rabjohn then introduced the members of the senior Mohawk basketball team, and distributed the annual honors. This year's offensive award went to Brier Staples, the defensive award went to Brett Burns and Spencer Hardin was most improved. Chosen by the squad to receive the teammate award was Ryker Little. Selected for the challenge award was Ben Holcomb.

Burns, who has signed a letter of intent to play basketball next year at Williams Baptist University, was also selected to the 3A-3 All-Conference team.

Lady Mohawk Softball

Hopkins and Carr also distributed the honors for the Lady Mohawk softball team. Recipient of the offensive player of the year award was Hannah Powell, who has signed with CRC to play both softball and volleyball in the fall. Powell averaged .396 and had a slugging percentage over .500. Powell also garnered the defensive award, with a .931 fielding average and the talented senior was chosen as All-Conference for 3A-3. Receiving All-Conference honorable mentions were Lexi Herren and Ally Kilbreath, the other two seniors on the squad.

Both of the awards which are voted on by the team, the teammate of the year and Miss Mohawk awards, went to Lexi Herren.

Mohawk Baseball

Coach Rabjohn and assistant Coach Billy Joe Seal returned to the lecturn to present the awards for the Mohawk baseball squad, which recently wrapped-up a very successful season. The squad were district runner-ups, advanced out of the regional to state, but fell in the first round of play—despite getting the tying run to the plate in the seventh inning.

Based on their regular season performances several Mohawks were chosen to the 3A-3 All-Conference team including Josh Lyman, Hayden Lemmons, John Jones, Trey Gossett, Dylan Bellers, Holden Tarno and Michael Palmer.

In recognition of their postseason play, Lyman was chosen to the 3A-3 All-State team and Bellers was afforded an honorable mention. A senior, Lyman has signed a letter of intent to continue his education and baseball career at Crowley's Ridge College. Meanwhile, Jones was named to the All-State Tournament team for his contributions to the Mohawk's success.

Lyman was also recipient of the team's pitching award, while the defensive award went to second baseman Tarno and the offensive award went to Bellers. Selected for the Mr. Mohawk honor was Jones.

The coaches also offered their thanks to all the individuals who support the teams each year, including volunteers and parents. Special thanks was also extended to a number of businesses for their help, and churches and organizations who volunteered to operate the concession stand during ballgames.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: