Clay County Recognized by AAC

Thursday, August 23, 2018
AAC Loss Control Specialist Ed Piker (right) presents a 2018 Safety Award to Clay County Judge Mike Patterson. A total of 32 Arkansas counties received the awards from the Association of Arkansas Counties (AAC) Risk Management program this year.
courtesy photo

Clay County was among several counties recognized by the Association of Arkansas Counties with a safety award during the AAC's 50th annual conference. This year's conference was held Aug. 8 to 10, in Rogers. On hand to accept the recognition was Clay County Judge Mike Patterson.

Clay County was among 32 of those who met the three main safety requirements in earning the annual award. Those recognized included counties who scored at least 80 percent on the AAC safety survey, had a loss ration of less than 50 percent and had not been in the Arkansas Worker's Compension Commission Rule 32 Hazard Program currently or within the past two years.

In addition to Clay County, those receiving the award were Arkansas, Baxter, Boone, Bradley, Clark, Columbia, Conway, Faulkner, Greene, Howard, Izard, Johnson, Lafayette, Miller, Mississippi, Nevada, Perry, Poinsett, Polk Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Saline, Sebastian, Sevier, Sharp, Stone, Union, VanBuren, Washington and White counties.

In addition, two counties received a certificate for having no Worker's Compensation claims in 2017—Calhoun and Monroe counties.

The AAC supports and promotes the idea that all elected officials must have the opportunity to act together in order to solve mutual problems as a unified group. To further the goal, the AAC commits to provide a single source of cooperative support and information for all counties and county and district officials. In the effort to improve county government in the state, the association provides legislative representation, on-site assistance, general research, training, various publications and conferences to assist county officials in carrying out their duties and responsibilities.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: