Clay County Farm Bureau Hosts Annual Meeting

Thursday, September 6, 2018
Members of the Piggott High FFA were presented with a check by the Clay County Farm Bureau at their recent county meeting. Pictured are, from left: Presley Tullos, Brent Gossett, Dalton James, Katelyn Jackson and Clay County Farm Bureau President Jeremy Wiedeman.
courtesy photo

Clay County Farm Bureauís annual meeting was held Monday, Aug. 27, at the Piggott Community Center, with approximately 135 members and guests in attendance. President Jeremy Wiedeman called the meeting to order and Randal Coleman offered the invocation.

This year, the meal was catered by Hog Wild BBQ and consisted of ribs, barbecued chicken and pork steak accompanied by all the trimmings. The Piggott FFA, under leadership of Casey Simpson, assisted with serving the meal. They were presented with a donation from Clay County Farm Bureau in support of their FFA program. Farm Bureau Womenís Committee members, Sabrina Woolverton and Debbie Pollard, with the assistance of Emily Hemann, decorated and set-up the tables for the evening.

The M*A*S*H program participants, Colten Lindsey and Gabby Clark of Rector and Chandler Conyers of Corning, were recognized. Colten shared his experience and thanked the organization for sponsoring this program. PHS grad Hannah Smart was recognized as the recipient of the scholarship that is given each year to a Clay County graduating senior. She is attending Frank Phillips College in Borger, Tex., and majoring in Agriculture.

The 2018 Clay County Farm Family of the year, Martin Ahrent and Sons Farms of Corning, was recognized by Stewart Runsick of the cooperative extension service. He presented plaques to the Mark Ahrent and Michael Ahrent families recognizing this honor. He also announced the Ahrent family has been named the 2018 District Farm Family of the year. In addition, State Rep. Joe Jett presented a proclamation from the state legislature to the Ahrent Families.

Rep. Jett, of Success, also gave a legislative report and thanked the organization for their dedication and support of agriculture across the state.

Terry Pollard, Clay County Farm Bureau Nominating Committee Member, presented Harold Hancock, Kenny Francis and Mark Coleman for re-election for a three-year term. He also asked for additional nominations from the floor. These three board members were elected.

Pollard then presented the resolution which is to continue to support the existing policy that Farm Bureau feels is in the best interest of the farmers, pertaining to the state plant board. He noted, Farm Bureau supports the idea the state plant board and livestock and poultry commission remain a stand-alone entity, and not under the Department of Agriculture.

President Wiedeman then introduced guest speaker, Warren Carter, Executive Vice President of Arkansas Farm Bureau Federation. Carter spoke regarding the many issues which are evident in todayís changing agriculture economy.

Cliff Gifford, Clay County Farm Bureau Agency Manager, recognized the agents and MSRís in each office and introduced Emily Hemann as a new agent who will take on the responsibilities on Oct. 1. She is currently serving as a CSR in the Piggott office.

Numerous door prizes were also awarded before the meeting was adjourned.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: