Rector Schools Mark Red Ribbon Week

Thursday, November 1, 2018
The Red Ribbon Week winners from RES gather for a group photo.
courtesy photo

Students at Rector Elementary School marked Red Ribbon Week recently with a number of special contests, observances and the annual rally and parade. This year's observance was held Oct. 22 through 26, and the theme was “life is your journey, travel drug free.”

Throughout the week there were special dress-up days, a coloring contest, poster contest and essay contest. Daily winners were also named in the dress-ups days, and for the guessing jar game.

The week culminated on Friday with the annual rally and parade, originating in the field adjacent to the RES playground. Students, staff, family and supporters gathered for the annual rally Friday afternoon. After a welcome from RES GT coordinator Lance Mabery, the band performed the National Anthem. The individual winners were also announced, followed by speakers Mark Vavak, of the Arkansas State Police, and Clay County Sheriff Terry Miller.

The students then took part in a balloon release, to honor their pledge of staying drug free. The individual classes then performed their chant or cheer, and the parade lined-up.

This year's winners in the coloring contest were, for kindergarten-Avery Aarlie for Mrs. Bridgett'e class, Asa Jackson for Mrs. Brooke's class and Brandon Pruitt for Mrs. Brittany's class; first grade-Mason Isley for Mrs. Sara's class and chloe Horn for Mrs. Cate's class.

The winners in the poster contest included, for second grade-Lasten Gilbee for Mrs. Jade's class and Adrianna Jackson for Mrs. Slaughter's class; third grade-Mollie Austin for Mrs. Jami's class and Roslynn Faught for Ms. Wendy's class; fourth grade-Anniston Scott for Ms. Sue's class and Alexis for Mrs. Stephanie's class.

The winners in the essay contest included, for fifth grade-Chloe McCurry for Mrs. Hester's class and Jaydin Stirnaman for Mrs. Dorman's class; sixth grade- Dalton Lamar for Mrs. MacKenzie's class and Kaelyn Burns for Mrs. Haynes' class.

The guessing jar daily winners for this year included—Briana Johnson on Monday, Sarah McCarty on Tuesday, Grayson Bryant on Wednesday, Jayle Lopez on Thursday and Tason Hopper and Jaxon Burns on Friday.

This year's dress up day winners were as followed, for Monday through Friday. Kindergarten-Lily Dorman, Beckett Mabrey, Jaylene Scott, Chandler Graham and Anastasia Householder. First grade-Raleigh Scott, Levi Shelton, Gunner McGuire, Sally Kilbreth and Macy Stirnaman. Second grade-Stetson Stanley, Dawn Kilbreth, Adrianna Jackson, Eli Hamm and Holdyn Hart. Third grade-Maleigha Scott, Kellon Mabrey, Keighyn Ritter, Swaye Stainaker and McKenna Stanley. Fourth grade-Carlee Godfrey, Ariana Tippitt-Holcomb, Colton Haywood, Briana Johnson and Landen Palmer. Fifth grade-Abigail Schuerman, Jackson Lynn, Makayla McGuire, Charlie Bearden and Jaydin Stirnaman. Sixth grade-Cash Lindsey, Liam Jukkola, Koden Tucker, Shay Henson and Hayden Vavak.

Organizers also offered their thanks to the students, staff and others who made the annual observance possible and a big success.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: