PES Hosts ACT Aspire Assembly

Thursday, December 6, 2018
The drawing winners, and several of the sponsors, from the Piggott Elementary School ACT Aspire assembly, held Thursday, Nov. 29. Pictured are, from left: Front-Micha Reeves, Bo Young, Zander Mayberry, Cason Maynard and Graycn Pehle. Middle- Jaci Conway, Chloe Perez, Houston Dunlap, Max Guite, Belle Lovelace and Peyton Little. Back-Rodney Rouse, Jennifer Spence and Mayor Jim Poole.
TD photo/Kelsey McKenney

Students, staff and family gathered as the ACT Aspire Awards Assembly was held at the Piggott Elementary School on Thursday, Nov. 29. The assembly had been scheduled for earlier in the month, but fell victim to winter weather. During the annual event, Assistant Principal Erica Harris welcomed those on hand. The assembly began with the Pledge of Allegiance and the Star-Spangled Banner, played by Louis Linn of the PHS Marching Mohawk band.

In keeping with tradition, each teacher presented their class and identified their results in English, Reading, Science and Math. Last year’s third grade class teachers included Andrea Coomer, Tammy Gordon and Jessica Robertson. Last year’s fourth grade class teachers were Kayla Rahn and Megan Ruhmann along with Christy Wortham, who was unable to be present. In her absence, Hayley Baker presented Wortham’s class. Fifth grade class teachers from the previous year were Vickie Brown, Tonya Helms and Sherri Wright.

A total of five students were acknowledged during the assembly, as they had received an exceeding score in English, Reading, Science and Math. These students were Belle Lovelace, Wyatt Koyle, William Lucas, Carly Hall and Mason Lowe. For their hard work, each student received $25, courtesy of Piggott Community Sharing Hearts, and presented by board member Mayor Jim Poole.

There were also various drawings held for Simon games and tablets, courtesy of Piggott Elementary Climate Committee and cash prizes donated by Piggott Community Sharing Hearts, Piggott State Bank and First National Bank-Piggott Banking Center. On hand to represent FNB was Rodney Rouse while Jennifer Spence represented PSB.

There were three of each of the prizes, therefore a name was drawn from the fourth, fifth and sixth grade baskets for each individual prize.

Winners of the Simon games included Belle Lovelace, Zander Mayberry and Jaci Conway. Students who won the tablets were Houston Dunlap, Bo Young and Micha Reeves. The $20 cash prize winners included Gracyn Pehle, Max Guite and Cason Maynard, while the $100 cash prize winners were Peyton Little, Cason Maynard and Chloe Perez.

Counselor Baraba Batey recognized the elementary teachers, the elementary staff and retired teachers attending and participating in the assembly.

After the drawings concluded, Harris thanked the sponsors, the faculty and those attending the assembly.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: