RHSSHOF Lavaughn Robertson Memorial Classic Held

Thursday, December 27, 2018
Taking part in the RHSSHOF plaque ceremony Tuesday evening at RHS were, from left: Jim Speer, Hannah Parsley-Rudi and Kelley Scobey on behalf of Jimmy Greenway.
TD photo/Tim Blair

Tuesday, Dec. 18, the Rector High School Sports Hall of Fame hosted the second night of this year's RHSSHOF Lavaughn Robertson Memorial Basketball Classic. The past several years the two-night tourney at RHS has served as a key fundraiser for the organization, in addition to the golf tournament each fall. The classic is supported by a number of sponsors, with primary support from St. Bernard's Healthcare.

At halftime of the final game Tuesday evening, the final phase of the induction process for the members of the class of 2018 was completed as their plaques were placed in the trophy case in the RHS gym.

Serving as the MC for the ceremony was board member Ted Glaub, who has recently wrapped up a term as president. He was assisted by board secretary-treasurer Owen Moseley.

During the traditional ceremony at RHS on Labor Day weekend, former standouts Jimmy Greenway, Hannah Parsley-Rudi and Jim Speer were inducted.

Greenway, class of 1992, was known as a top-performer on both the baseball diamond and basketball court, he was also a member of the school's only state championship team.

Rudi was an outstanding basketball player and duplicated the feat of scoring 1,000 points in her collegiate career at Freed-Hardeman, as she had as a Lady Cougar during her high school days. She was a member of the class of 2008.

Speer game to RHS from Greenway, and had a stellar career as both a Blackcat and a college player at Harding College. Later, he served multiple terms on the school board for his high school alma mater. He will also serve as president of the RHSSHOF board for the year to come, and will preside over next year's festivities.

During the halftime ceremony plaques were presented to Rudi and Speer, with Coach Kelley Scobey accepting on behalf of Greenway. Afterward, the plaques were placed in the trophy case on the upper level of the RHS gym, completing the induction process.

Over the course of the first 10 years of the RHSSHOF, 35 individuals and five teams were inducted. And, including this year, over $40,000 has been distributed to 62 graduates. In the past year the board has approved purchases in excess of $33,940 with funds earmarked for a variety of items and efforts.

Glaub noted some of the recent purchases included bats for the baseball and softball teams; a banner for the junior high football team; meals during basketball tournaments; shirts for the softball team; new backpacks for the boys and girls basketball teams; travel gear for the girls basketball team; a tailgate event during football season and food and water for teams while traveling.

The board of directors includes—president Jim Speer, vice president Keat Cohn, secretary and treasurer Owen Moseley, Ted Glaub, Clinton Haley, Michelle Haley, Shannon Haywood, Nate Henderson, Jonathan Kemp, John Mack, Randy Rogers, Vicki Romine, Roma Nell Sanders, John Taylor and Mitchell Weber.

Those wanting to made a contribution, or HOF nomination, may submit them to RHSSHOF Inc., Attn; Owen Moseley, 1703 Loberg Lane, Jonesboro, Ark., 72401.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: