Annual Delta Awards Finalist Are Named

Thursday, February 7, 2019

Arkansas Delta Byways will present the annual Delta Awards ceremony, recognizing tourism achievement in Eastern Arkansas, during festivities to be held on Friday evening, Feb. 15, at the Grand Prairie Center, in Stuttgart. Among those nominated for awards this year is a local business, the Piggott area car show organizers, our own Delta Crossroads Magazine and a sister publication to the CCTD.

The evening will begin with a 5:30 p.m. silent auction, followed by the dinner and awards at 7 p.m. The event is sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways with support from the Grand Prairie Center and the City of Stuttgart.

Nominated for the Media Support Award is the Delta Crossroads Magazine, which is published by this newspaper's parent corporation. It serves all counties in the Arkansas Delta Byways region. Also nominated is the Osceola Times newspaper, located in Osceola, and Mary Melton of Arkansas State University.

Nominated for the Hospitality Award was Madpie's Tea Room and Shoppes, located on the west side of the square in Piggott. Also nominated were the Bull Pen Restaurant in DeWitt and the Grand Prairie Center in Stuttgart.

Those nominated for the Tourism Support/Promotional Award includes the Piggott Heritage Group, which organizers and oversees the annual Piggott Heritage Car Show and Cruise. Also nominated were the Mississippi River Parkway Commission and the Mississippi State Park “No Boundaries Day Camp” in Lee County.

Nominated for the Entrepreneur Award were, The Delta Consortium for Arts and Innovation, Lake Village, Chicot County , Didly’s Marketplace, McGehee, Desha County and Larry and Beth Taylor, Brinkley, Monroe County.

Nominated as the Festival Event of the Year were, Downtown Jonesboro BBQ Festival, Jonesboro, Craighead County, King Biscuit Blues Festival, Helena, Phillips County and the World Champion Duck Calling Contest, Stuttgart, Arkansas County.

Those nominated for the Boot Strap Award included, Mississippi County Museum, Osceola, Mississippi County, Paragould Christmas Parade, Paragould, Greene County and Stars and Stripes Festival Committee, Tyronza, Poinsett County.

And, the nominees for the Cultural Heritage Award included, Hampson Archaeological Museum State Park, Wilson, Mississippi County, Delta Cultural Center, “Over Here and There: the Sons and Daughters of Arkansas Delta at War,” Helena, Phillips County and the Sultana Disaster Museum, Marion, Crittenden County.

The Outstanding Member Award and Tourism Person of the Year Awards will also be announced at the banquet.

The annual awards event is open to the public. Tickets are $30 per person or a table of eight for $225. Those wanting information on ticket availability may contact Gretchen Sacotnik, 870-573-6751 or

Arkansas Delta Byways, located on the Arkansas State University campus, is a nonprofit organization recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas. In addition to Clay, the counties are Arkansas, Chicot, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: