Election Day Turnout Light as Trump Carries Clay County

Thursday, November 12, 2020

Following a strong early voting period, turnout was fairly light on Tuesday, Nov. 3, at the polls in Clay County as the 2020 General Election was held. With only a pair of constable races to be decided on the county level, the electorate reflected much of the remainder of the state in casting ballots. According to Clay Count Clerk Pat Poole some 66 percent of the registered voters took part, although the results were still unofficial.

According to Poole, a total of 5,195 ballots were cast, including 3,766 early and 267 absentee. There were 1,140 ballots cast on election day, along with an additional 22 provisional.

President Donald J. Trump and Vice President Mike Pence carried the county easily, polling 4,084 votes for 78.87 percent for the Republican nominees while former Vice President Joe Biden and Senator Kamala Harris garnered 959 votes for 18.52 percent as the Democratic nominees. Meanwhile, the Libertarian candidates of Jorgenson and Cohen received 53 votes; Constitutional Party candidates Blankenship and Mohr received 19 votes; Independents Collins and Parker garnered 13; Green Party candidates Hawkins and Walker polled 11, as did independents West and Tindall. Others receiving votes included—Pierce and Ballard with nine; Myers and Lusk with eight; Gamon and Collins got four; Carrell and Patel and La Riva and Freeman got three each; and De La Fuenta and Richardson got one vote.

Senator Tom Cotton (R) was also favored for re-election over challenger Ricky Dale Harrington, Jr., (L) 4,194 to 900 in the county and statewide. Cotton did not face a Democratic challenger this election cycle, as the party candidate dropped-out shortly after the primaries.

Those unopposed included First District Congressman Rick Crawford and State Rep. Joe Jett.

As for the three issues, they fared about the same in Clay County as they did statewide. Issue One was favored 3,142 to 1,1931 and was approved statewide; Issue Two was favored 2,836 to 2,150 and also passed, while Issue Three was defeated statewide and drew only 2,119 yes votes in Clay County as opposed to 2,725 voting no.

On the local scene—in the West Oak Bluff Constable race it was Terry Robertson (R) over Farren Young (D) 349-110 and in the race for Constable of North Kilgore and Cleveland it was Michael Ray Gleghorn (I) over Vernie Carpenter (D) 396-267.

Otherwise there were no contested races to be decided, as none of the county elected officials, justices of the peace or local city council members faced opposition in the General Election. There will be one new member on the Quorum Court come Jan. 1, as Patrick Patterson, of Piggott, ran unopposed for the seat currently held by Mike Hill. He had been appointed to the seat following the death of Ryan Rogers, and was not eligible to seek re-election if another candidate filed.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: